Pojo's Magic The Gathering news, tips, strategies and more!

Pojo's MTG
MTG Home
Message Board
News & Archives
Deck Garage
BMoor Dolf BeJoSe

Columnists
Paul's Perspective
Jeff Zandi
DeQuan Watson
Jordon Kronick
IQ
Aburame Shino
Rare Hunter
Tim Stoltzfus
WiCkEd
Judge Bill's Corner


Trading Card
Game

Card of the Day
Guide for Newbies
Decks to Beat
Featured Articles
Peasant Magic
Fan Tips
Tourney Reports


Other
Color Chart
Book Reviews
Online Play
MTG Links
Staff



This Space
For Rent

Pojo's Magic The Gathering Card of the Day


Image from Wizards.com

Garza's Assassin
Coldsnap Rare

Sacrifice Garza's Assassin: Destroy target nonblack creature.
Recover - Pay half your life, rounded up.
(When another creature is put into your graveyard from play, you may pay half your life, rounded up. If you do, return this card from your graveyard to your hand. Otherwise, remove this card from the game.)
2/2


Reviewed July 06, 2006

Constructed: 2.7
Casual: 3
Limited: 2.35

Ratings are based on a 1 to 5 scale
1 being the worst.  3 ... average.  
5 is the highest rating

Click here to see all our 
Card of the Day Reviews 

BMoor

Garza's Assassin

As interesting as the Recover mecanic looks, this is probably the worst card to have it. It's essentially Seal of Doom for BBB, plus a 2/2 body. that's alright. But half your life to Recover it? If you need to recover it, you won't be able to afford it, and if you can afford it, you won't need it. I guess if you're REALLY dedicated to Black it could do as a 2/2 that can pull a 2-for-1 with damage on the stack, but don't get your hopes up about bringing it back.

Constructed- 2
Casual-2.5
Limited- 1.5
 

Jordan Kronick

Garza's Assassin

The recover mechanic is very cool, but this is not the best showcase of its power. Paying half your life for anything that doesn't say "you win the game" is usually an overpayment. Ignoring the recover ability for a moment, this is still a pretty cool creature. The mana cost is a bit harsh on anything but a mono-black deck, but it's still fairly solid. For limited purposes, this is definitely strong. Any removal effect is strong, and ones that are attached to creatures doubly so. One of the most useful aspects of Garza's Assassin is actually its ability to interact with your other recover abilities. Depending on the strength of those effects, this could be extremely versatile.

Constructed Rating - 3.0
Casual Rating - 3.2
Limited Rating - 3.5
 


Christine
Gerhardt

Garza's Assassin

HEAVY Black commitment, but that'a probably how it should be. Recover, as a new Coldsnap ability, is interesting - but very expensive and too situational. So if we look at it without considering the optional Recover cost, it's still an excellent card if you're commiting to heavy Black. BBB - Destroy target non-Black creature - and..heck, it's a creature in the meantime - maybe doing some attacking - maybe blocking and then taking something out.

As far as Recover, though, it's a very costly ability. You most likely would not use it unless you felt it was absolutely necessary. Another point is, you can't just "recover" it anytime. It triggers only when another creature goes to the grave. If that doesn't happen, you can't recover it. Also, it triggers when the very next creature goes to the grave, and you have to decide right then if you want to recover - it's your only window. If you don't take it, then it is removed from the game, and you won't get another chance. In my experience, too many IF - THEN statements highly detract from something's playability and worth. So, the chance that Recover will really come in handy and at JUST the right time, if at all, and also while you are willing to pay the cost, are just too slim. Recover seems more of a random "get lucky" ability than something to count on.

Constructed - 3
Casual - 3
Limited - 3
 
Copyrightę 1998-2006 pojo.com
This site is not sponsored, endorsed, or otherwise affiliated with any of the companies or products featured on this site. This is not an Official Site.