Judge Bill


'  

Home

Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Community
Message Board 
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

More Answers

Short Answers:

-1996 World Champion is not legal in any (DCI sanctioned) format.

-Creatures only exist in play. Everywhere else, they are creature cards.

-“Regenerate [permanent]” means “The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage from it, tap it, and (if it’s in combat) remove it from combat.” (419.6b)

-Regeneration shields last until end of turn or until they are used, whichever comes first.

---

Q: I just want to clarify that you can (legally) work this play, so that my friends will stop complaining about it. Turn 1: Forest, Llanowar Elves. Turn 2: Llanowar, Quirion Ranger, activate the Quirion Ranger's (non-tapping) ability, return the forest to my hand: untap the Llanowar, play the same Forest and tap the Forest and The Llanowar for two mana, playing a Winter Orb. Essentially tapping the land and the Llanowar twice, so that I can have one land, two elves and an artifact out on my second turn.

-Ryan S.

A: Yes, you can do that.

---

Q: My friend enchanted a creature with Veteran's Voice and attacked me with another creature. He then tapped the enchanted creature with Veteran's Voice 10000 times, and kill me, I clam to him that you can't not do that because the +2/+1 will not trigger unless you "TAP" the creature, which shift from untap into tap. But he say that the new rule says you may tap a tap creature even thought is tap. Who is right?

-bahamut o.

A: From the Rulebook, Under "Tap":

The tap symbol (T in these rules) in an activation cost means “Tap this permanent”—a permanent that’s already tapped can’t be tapped again to pay the cost.

The reference to tapping a tapped creature refers to the effect caused by a spell, not on paying the cost for a spell.

---

Q: Hey, this is probably stupid, but I have a Ball Lightning in play, and my opponent has a Wall of Junk enchanted with Pariah, which has already taken 5 damage this turn. If I attack with Ball Lightning, can I "trample" over the redirect ability of Pariah?

-Shameless Boy

A: No. The damage to the player will be redirected and hit the Wall of Junk at the same time as the damage assigned to the Wall of Junk. So unless you get rid of the wall before damage resolves, the Wall is taking all the damage, no matter how it is assigned.

---

Tournament Report - FNM - Diamond Bar, CA - 3rd place

Well, I failed to update my deck for Legions, so I was still running my pre-Legions version:

Psychatog, a.k.a. The Energizer Bunny

by: Kai Budde (http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=sideboard/strategy/20030220a)

3 Psychatog

4 Smother

3 Innocent Blood

4 Counterspell

4 Circular Logic

4 Force Spike

3 Deep Analysis

2 Concentrate

3 Compulsion

2 Cunning Wish

2 Upheaval

4 Polluted Delta

4 Underground River

4 Swamp

2 Darkwater Catacombs

3 Lonely Sandbar

9 Island

Sideboard:

1 Deep Analysis

1 Compulsion

1 Psychatog

1 Mana Short

1 Ghastly Demise

1 Alter Reality

1 Opportunity

1 Coffin Purge

4 Duress

2 Chainer’s Edict

1 Persecute

I'll list my current online build, which I want to switch this deck to, at the end of the report.

24 players showed up, so it was 5 rounds with a cut to top 4.

Round 1 - Sugrim R. - Land Destruction

Game 1 - I win the roll, 8-1, and play first. He mulligans once, and keeps a one land hand. By the time he gets to 3 mana for his LD, I already have 7 land on the table. That, along with turn 2 Compulsion, seals it.

Sideboard: In: 2 Chainer's Edict, Compulsion, Deep Analysis, Opportunity. Out: 4 Smother, Innocent Blood.

Game 2 - He goes first, and again takes a mulligan, but is unable to apply any pressure. I take more damage from my Deep Analyses than I do from any other source.

Games: 2-0, Matches: 1-0

Round 2 - Brandon W. - R/G

Game 1 - I win the roll, 14-13, and play. He mulligans once. I am stuck on 3 land, so I can't drop Compulsion without leaving myself open, and I quickly go down.

Sideboard: In: 2 Chainer's Edict, Compulsion. Out: 2 Concentrate, Deep Analysis.

Game 2 - He mulligans once again. This time, it's his turn to be land light, and I have plenty of time to get to the Heave'a'Tog.

Game 3 - This one was a lot closer. I quickly go down to 5, and he has no creatures on the board, so I can counter the burn coming at my head, and Heave'a'Tog for the match.

Games: 4-1, Matches: 2-0

Round 3 - Michael N. - U/G Speculation

Game 1 - I win the roll, 16-8, and play. He takes a mulligan. He is stuck on one land until turn 4, and I have plenty of time to set up.

Sideboard: In: 2 Chainer's Edict, Compulsion. Out: Deep Analysis, Psychatog, Counterspell.

Game 2 - My turn to take a mulligan, for once. He gets down a bit of pressure, but when he discards Roar to the Aquamoeba, I wish for Coffin Purge, and take it out. My Tog holds off his Aquamoeba until I am ready to Upheaval.

Games: 6-1, Matches: 3-0

Round 4 - James F. - "Zombies Over The Bridge"

Game 1 - He wins the roll, 8-4, and goes first. He gets a couple of Wretches out, and eats away at my grave. I have a Compulsion, though, and he stops attacking for a while. This lets me set up comfortably for the Heave win. He mistaps to attempt a Braids, leaving only one black source open, so I know I'm only facing 1 Smother when I heave.

Sideboard: In: Compulsion, Deep Analysis. Out: Psychatog, Smother.

Game 2 - He goes first. He Cabal Therapies me first turn, naming Compulsion. I show Deep Analysis, Counterspell, something else, and 4 land. Guess what I rip off the top? Compulsion, of course, and the card advantage is too great to overcome. I Upheaval at the end, he floats 4, and I float 2 extra. I play the Tog, and have 2 Logics for his 2 Smothers. It just wasn't meant to be for him.

Games: 8-1, Matches: 4-0

Round 5 - Daniel Jacoby - 4c Beast Bidding?

Game 1 - I win the roll, 4-3, and play. Some time in, I Upheaval at 8 land, floating UB. He floats 2 for a Smother, so I just replay Compulsion instead, and he burns for 2. I don't get enough to reset in time, though, and go down.

Sideboard: In: 4 Duress, 2 Chainer's Edict, Compulsion. Out: 3 Innocent Blood, 4 Smother, Deep Analysis.

Game 2 - He is unable to apply pressure, and I have time to set up the Heave'a'Tog.

Sideboard: In: 2 Smother. Out: 2 Duress.

Game 3 - He applies the beats early, forcing me to look for an Upheaval. I can't find it, and go down.

Games: 9-3, Matches: 4-1

The top 4 are:

1. Me

2/3. James F. and Daniel J.

4...

Top 4 - Marshall - Beasts

Game 1 - He wins the roll, and mulligans once before starting. Even though I am able to Upheaval twice, he still quickly beats me down.

Sideboard: In: 2 Chainer's Edict, Compulsion, Persecute. Out: Psychatog, Deep Analysis, Concentrate, Island.

Game 2 - This beating was even more savage than the first, as I don't even see an Upheaval, and just roll over and die.

Games: 9-5, Matches: 4-2

I would have been forced to play Marshall win or lose, as if I had beaten Daniel, Sugrim, who lost out on top 4 at 4-1 on the second tie-break (losing 1 more game than Marshall), would have jumped into third, on my higher match points, and Marshall would have been 4th anyway.

Anyway, the deck as I currently have it configured online:

Psychatog, a.k.a. The Energizer Bunny

3 Psychatog

4 Smother

3 Chainer's Edict

4 Counterspell

4 Circular Logic

4 Force Spike

3 Deep Analysis

2 Concentrate

4 Compulsion

2 Cunning Wish

2 Upheaval

4 Polluted Delta

4 Underground River

4 Swamp

2 Darkwater Catacombs

3 Lonely Sandbar

9 Island

Sideboard:

1 Mana Short

1 Alter Reality

1 Read the Runes

1 Chain of Vapor

1 Coffin Purge

4 Duress

4 Engineered Plague

2 Haunting Echoes

See you Thursday.

Bill Guerin

Ask Judge Bill A Question Here

DCI Level 2 Judge

 

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.