Judge Bill


'  

Home

Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Community
Message Board 
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

More Random Questions

One quick note before we get started. I am heading down to Nationals Thursday morning, and staying until Sunday evening. So you should get a column from me as normal on Thursday this week (I submit them the day before, so I'll have it done before I leave), but my next week's columns will be on Tuesday (1 July) and Friday (4 July), because I know I'll be too tired to write one when I come home Sunday.

---

Short Answers:

-Odyssey Block will be legal in Type 2 until November 1, when all of Odyssey Block will rotate out. Type 2 always contains the latest 2 blocks (along with the most recent base set). See section 125 of the Tournament Rules for more information.

-You can only pay 3 to play a creature face down when you cast it. You can never pay 3 to "re-morph" it (turn it face down when it is in play face up).

---

Q: If a land is enchanted with two Fertile Grounds, is the second enchantment redundant? Or would the tapped land add more than one mana?

-Goronkid

A: Two Fertile Grounds on a land would cause it to produce 2 additional mana of any type. They are cumulative.

---

Q: When Festering Goblin goes into the graveyard, does it have to give target creature -1/-1, or is this just something that I may do?

-Jacob R.

A: If there is a creature in play when Festering Goblin dies, then you must give a creature -1/-1. This is not optional.

---

Q: If I have 2 Lightning Rifts in play and I cycle a card do I pay 1 and have them do 4 damage to a target or do I have to pay 2 in order to do that?

--Edward P.

A: You have to pay 2. Each Lightning Rift triggers separately, and requires a separate payment.

---

Tournament Report - FNM - Diamond Bar, CA

(or, "DAMN ELVES!!")

Zombies (French Champion's Deck)

3 Shepherd of Rot

4 Withered Wretch

4 Nantuko Shade

3 Mesmeric Fiend

2 Stronghold Assassin

4 Cabal Archon

4 Rotlung Reanimator

3 Graveborn Muse

2 Oversold Cemetery

4 Smother

3 Corrupt

23 Swamp

1 Unholy Grotto

Sideboard:

3 Braids, Cabal Minion

3 Engineered Plague

2 Chainer's Edict

2 Persecute

2 Mutilate

3 Duress

Round 1 - Daniel J. - Elves, part 1

Game 1 - I go first. He gets a couple of attacks in, and I let him have a turn, even though he has a face down creature and 2 Timberwatch Elves. He runs me over.

Sideboard: In: 3 Engineered Plague, 2 Mutilate. Out: 3 Mesmeric Fiend, 2 Graveborn Muse.

Game 2 - He takes a mulligan. I come out with 3 Shades, but fail to get him to 0 before his Wellwisher plus 2 Seekers come on line, so I just scoop.

Games: 0-2, Matches: 0-1

I look through the deck, and none of the sideboard cards were coming for 12+ turns. Oh well, such is life.

The metagame here has gotten really f***ed up. First, 2 Land Destruction decks last week. Now, Scott is in a mirror match with another elf deck (he eventually wins game 1 by doing something like 248 damage while his opponent was at 246), and there is one other elf deck, making 4 in a field of 21. Never mind there was still 2 LD decks (which would have been 3, but Sugrim didn't show tonight).

Round 2 - Terrance A. - Elves, Part 2

This was the other elf deck. He didn't play Scott last round.

Game 1 - He gets the triple Hivemaster draw, and yet gives me like 5 extra turns to do something. I'm not able to, since the main deck has nothing for him. I had a Cemetery, but didnít get more than 4 creatures. I finally step in and ask, "Terrance, can I intervene here?" He says OK, and I turn all of his creatures sideways, and I scoop.

Sideboard: In: 3 Engineered Plague, 2 Mutilate, 2 Chainer's Edict (Steely Resolve, which he had out in the first game). Out: 3 Graveborn Muse, 2 Smother, 2 Shepherd of Rot.

Game 2 - I drop turn 2 Fiend, and take his Naturalize. I then drop turn 3 Plague, which I had on the draw. He fails to remember to play his Birchlores face down to leave token resistance, and just rolls over and dies.

Game 3 - I mulligan a hand of 2 Shades, a Cemetery, and 4 Swamp into a hand of 2 land, a Fiend, a Mutilate, and 2 others. Turn 2, I top deck the Plague, so I drop the Fiend. He doesn't have the Naturalize, and I drop the Plague. Game, set, match.

Games: 2-3, Matches: 1-1

It's all about the sideboard in the Elf Matchup. =\

Round 3 - Ben H. - Beasts

It's at about this point that I start to wonder, does this deck (that I'm playing) have a good matchup?

Game 1 - I mulligan my first hand. I get a Shade down, but he gets the early Centaur. I can do nothing as the Centaur hits me twice, and then he pitches Glory to the Dog for the win.

Sideboard: In: 2 Mutilate, 2 Chainer's Edict. Out: 3 Graveborn Muse, 1 Smother.

Game 2 - He gets the creature advantage again, and although I manage to Corrupt him, his victory is never in doubt. His creatures are just bigger and more well equipped. I manage to make a mistake, tapping out to flashback an Edict, but then he just Cliffs my Shade, and then my Wretch.

Games: 2-5, Matches: 1-2

Round 4 - Kenny - MBC splashing green for Reclaims and Naturalizes

Game 1 - He takes 2 mulligans, and stalls on 2 land. A quick Fiend and Shade do him in.

Sideboard: In: 3 Braids, Cabal Minion, 2 Chainer's Edict. (I thought he was playing BG Cemetery.) Out: 2 Stronghold Assassin, 2 Oversold Cemetery, 1 Smother.

Game 2 - A quick Shade, followed by a Wretch. However, He Persecutes my hand away, and then Mutilates. I beat on him with a top decked Rotlung, until he decides to Edict me. The Zombie beats on him some more, and he Corrupts me. He makes a mistake on his last turn, Reclaiming the Smother instead of the Corrupt to kill the token, I top deck an Archon and immediately kill him.

Games: 4-5, Matches: 2-2

Round 5 - Robert R. - Elves, part 3

(Scott's first round opponent)

He wins the die roll, but takes a mulligan. He gets 2 Timberwatch and a Kamakl FOK on the table. I get him to attack with the Random Elf, Kamahl, and 2 lands, and when I don't block, he tries to triple Timberwatch the Elf, tapping out (using the Wirewood Lodge for the third activation of the Timberwatch). I Smother the Random Elf, and, since he is now completely tapped out, I sac my 2 Clerics to Archon's ability, getting 2 zombies with the Rotlung, and then attacking with everything, and pumping my Shade to kill him.

Sideboard: I forgot to write it down, but I think: IN: 3 Engineered Plague, 2 Mutilate, 2 Chainer's Edict. Out: 3 Graveborn Muse, 1 Shepherd of Rot, and I don't remember the rest. I do remember I only took out 1 Shepherd though.

Game 2 - I get the double Shade draw, while he only gets a Vanguard and Taunting Elf due to only having 2 land. I drop a Rotlung, another Zombie, and a Rotlung. He gets Timberwatch and another creature to keep me at bay, but I just drop the Shepherd, activate it once for 4 when he is at 9, then drop another Rotlung and activate it again. (I draw the first Plague on the turn I kill him.)

Games: 6-5, Matches: 3-2

See you Thursday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.