Judge Bill


'  

Home

Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Community
Message Board 
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

A Storm Brewing

Q: My opponent has played a Llanowar Elves, followed by a Hunting Pack for two tokens. I play another Hunting Pack. Do I get to count his storm copies as spells for my Hunting Pack?

A: Let me repeat what storm means here:

502.30a Storm is a triggered ability that functions while the card is on the stack. “Storm” means “When you play this spell, put a copy of it onto the stack for each other spell that was played before it this turn. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for any number of the copies.”

So what spells were played? Only the Llanowar Elves and your opponent's Hunting Pack. So 2 spells were played this turn, and that means you get 3 beasts.

---

Q; I have a question...I was playing my friend and he placed a card face down. The next turn he attacked with that creature and I didn't block. So he put combat damage on the stack, and then unmorphed it and it was an Ebonblade Reaper. Do I lose half my life?

-Kathy W.

A: Yes. When damage resolves, Ebonblade Reaper has the "lose half your life if I hurt you" ability, so you will lose half your life.

---

Q: In regards to Dream Halls: does the effect apply only on me, or does my opponent get to use the effect too?

-Gilbert L.

A:Your opponent can use the effect too. Dream Halls sets up a replacement effect - it replaces paying the mana cost with discarding a card of the appropriate color. Since that card says “its controller,” and both players can control cards that are played ont the stack, both players can use the effect.

---

Q: If my opponent has Engineered Plague out targeting Goblins, and I play a 1/1 goblin with a Siege-Gang Commander out. Does the 1/1 automatically disappear, or can I pay 2 mana and sack the 1/1 to do 2 damage to a player or creature before it dies?

A: When the goblin comes into play, it is a 0/0. Therefore, it dies before anyone can play anything. So you don't have time to fling it before it disappears.

---

Q: If I block her 1/1 creature with my 1/1 Goblin, then Sac the Goblin w/Siege-Gang Commander to do 2 damage to the player, Does the Goblin deal damage to her 1/1 creature and kill it, or does her 1/1 creature only considered blocked?

-Tyler G.

A: Depends on when you fling it. If combat damage is on the stack, her creature dies. If combat damage had not yet been put on the stack, it lives.

---

Q: I was playing in a tournament, and it was my opponent's turn. He draws a card, and then we both notice that a big group of cards coming up were flipped over face up. Of course, I had no idea what the ruling was, so I called a judge over, he said that he should just reshuffle his deck. Is this the correct ruling? or should my opponent have received a penalty?

-Joe

A: Another judge dependent and REL dependent call. At anything less than REL 4 (meaning at any level lower than a Grand Prix), though, that's all I would have done.

---

Q: My opponent attacks with all his creatures, one of which is a Taunting Elf. I have a Wall of Glare out. Can I block all of his creatures with my Wall of Glare?

-Mike

A: Since the Wall of Glare is blocking the Taunting Elf, you have a legal block. So yes, you can do that.

---

Q: I play a solid soldier deck, and I need clarification on one of the cards in my deck. If I block my opponent's creatures, then flip over Frontline Strategist, do my opponent's creatures still deal damage to my soldiers?

-Carlos

A: When Frontline Strategist is turned over, any creature that is not a soldier has its damage prevented. So the only creatures that will deal damage this turn are creatures with the creature type soldier. (Both your soldiers and your opponent's soldiers.)

---

Q: If I use Nefarious Lich, Confessor, Zombie Infestation and Library of Leng, could I create infinite creatures - because I would discard for Infestation, which would go to the top of my library because of the Library, then I would gain life from the Confessor, but draw that many cards instead because of the Lich and draw what I discarded and therefore make infinite creatures?

-Justin

A: No. This does not work. Library of Leng only allows you to put cards on top of your library for cards that are discarded due to an effect, not to pay a cost. So you can’t discard to Zombie Infestation and put the discarded cards on top of your library.

---

Correction:

C: I think one of your answers in the article dated 17 July was a bit misleading. I'm referring to:

>>>Q: I am also wondering if an Animate Land and Eradicate combo would be legal in which you Animate one of the lands to make it a creature and then Eradicate it, thus removing all of a person's lands from the game.

-Graham

A: Yes, that works.<<<

Well, the combo works, of course, but Eradicate says

Eradicate

{2}{B}{B}

Sorcery

Remove target nonblack creature from the game. Search its controller's graveyard, hand, and library for all cards with the same name as that creature and remove them from the game. That player then shuffles his or her library.

so you don't remove "all of a person's lands from the game", as all lands of that name stay in play except for the one targeted by Eradicate.

-Justus

A: Yup, that's what I meant (and what my brain first read the question as). Thanks for correcting me.

See you Monday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.