Judge Bill


'  

Home

Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Community
Message Board 
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Stifled Abyss

Q: Can I use Stifle on The Abyss?

A: The Abyss

{3}{B}

Enchant World

At the beginning of each player's upkeep, destroy target nonartifact creature that player controls of his or her choice. It can't be regenerated.

Since the ability starts with "at," it can be Stifled, yes.

---

Q: The card Equipoise work if my opponent have the deck Lock & Stock? If my opponent has a Smokestack and a Tangle Wire in play with some counters on them, and I have a Equipoise, at the beginning of my turn I have no artifacts in play, the Tangle Wire and the Smokestack phase out, and I don't sacrifice anything and I don't tap anything, is that correct?

-Mr. Noname

A: Incorrect. ALL upkeep triggers go on the stack at the beginning of the upkeep, active player's first. So Equipoise will go on the stack, then Smokestack and Tangle Wire. Since Smokestack and Tangle Wire are on the stack on top of the Equipoise, they will resolve first, and you will tap and sacrifice permanents before the Tangle Wire and Smokestack phase out.

---

Q: On cards like Denying Wind, do I have to announce the names of the 7 cards before I search through the library? or can I search through & decide as I go along?

-Jacob R.

A: You do two things when you announce a spell - declare targets and choose modes. The only target is the player - your opponent, and you have no modes, since the words "Choose One" are not on Denying Wind. So the cards to be removed are chosen on resolution of Denying Wind.

---

Q: I cast a Consume Spirit for 3, paying 1B+3 mana to cast my spell and I target a Goblin Sledder. My opponent sacrifices his Sledder to give his Piledriver a +1/+1 in response to my Consume Spirit. Does my Consume Spirit resolve and gain 3 life out of it?

A: No. When Consume Spirit resolves, it finds all of its targets are illegal. So the entire spell is countered, including the life gain.

---

Q: I cast a Persecute. Where does the choosing of color come?

A: As stated above, the only things you do when you play a spell are choose targets and modes. Since the color choice for Persecute is neither, it is done on resolution.

---

Q: I cast a Carbonize. Do I have to assign my target first before I ask my opponent whether it resolves or not?

- PJ

A: Yes. As stated above, targets must be chosen when a spell is played.

---

Q: What is a triggered ability?

A: A triggered ability is an ability of a card or permanent that starts with one of the following words: "when," "whenever,' or "at."

---

Q: What is an activated ability?

Barbara F.

A: An activated ability is an ability of a card or permanent of the form "cost:effect."

Some cards previous to Sixth Edition had that form in the text box, which in that case was an additional cost of playing the spell. Check the Oracle to see the current wording of older cards.

---

Q: When Wall of Deceit is face up on the field blocking a 2/2 creature with first strike can it be turned face down during the normal damage step and still deal 2 damage to the attacking creature?

-Eric C.

A: No. Once the first strike damage has resolved, if you turn the Wall face down, it will be a 2/2 creature with 2 damage on it, and will immediately be put into the graveyard, without having a chance to deal damage.

---

Q: How exactly does Book Burning work?

-Michael S.

A: When Book Burning resolves, The person who was targeted can choose to do one of two things: take 6 damage, or flip the top 6 cards of his or her library into his or her graveyard.

See you Tuesday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge

 

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.