Judge Bill


'  

Home

Card Price Guide

MTG Fan Articles
Single Card Strategy 
Deck Tips & Strategies 
Tourney Reports 
Peasant Magic 
Featured Articles

Featured Writers
The Dragon's Den
Rumblings From The Ass
The Heretic's Sermon
Through The Portal

Deck Garage
Aaron's School

Community
Message Board 
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Blinkmoth Bonus

Q: If I put +1/+1 counters on Blinkmoth Nexus while it's a creature what happens to them at the end of turn when Blinkmoth Nexus becomes a land (that's no longer a creature)?

-Benny

A: When the Nexus stops being a creature, the +1/+1 counters will sit on the card, doing nothing. When the Nexus is activated again, the counters will reapply.

---

Q: This may seem like a simple question, but after your combat phase, do you have a second main phase?

-Ketay

A: Yes.

300.1. A turn consists of five phases, in this order: beginning, precombat main, combat, postcombat main, and end. Each of these phases takes place every turn, even if nothing happens during the phase. The beginning, combat, and end phases are further broken down into steps, which proceed in order.

---

Q: I saw the new wording on Sylvan Library that it will trigger once at the beginning of the draw step. I'm just confused since the upkeep and draw step is just one continuous phase when does my upkeep end and my draw begin.

A: The Upkeep and draw steps are both a part of the beginning phase, but each will happen separately. If you're having trouble with that, just pretend they're phases, only your mana pool doesn't clear.

(By the way, thanks for the reminder to update my Oracle, since a new set came out. You can get your copy of the Oracle at http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/oracle. The Comprehensive Rulebook can also be found there.)

---

Q: Also, will Sylvan trigger first before I draw, or do I draw before Sylvan triggers?

A: The draw for your turn has changed. The normal draw for your turn now happens immediately, at the start of your draw step, without going on the stack. Then, triggered abilities (like Sylvan Library's) go on the stack.

---

Q: Can kicker and x be paid when a spell is put onto the stack by Isochron Scepter?

-Allen E.

A: Kicker, yes, as kicker is an additional cost to play the spell.

X costs, no, because the Scepter allows you to play the copy without paying its mana cost. Since this is allowed, this means you CAN'T pay the mana cost. Therefore, since you can't choose a value for X, X is 0.

---

Q: Jihad is in play under my control and so is Phantasmal Fiend. Jihad is giving my creatures +2/+1 currently because I chose blue and my opponent has blue permanents in play. I play Sway of Illusion making all my creatures white. I use Phantasmal Fiend's ability. What happens to my Fiend?

A: Base Power/Toughness: 1/5

Switch effect makes P/T: 5/1

---

Q: What would happen to my Fiend if I switched power and toughness before I played Jihad then played it?

A: A new layer of paint would be applied on top, making the Fiend 6/3 until end of turn. At end of turn, the P/T change will wear off (as well as the mandate to apply power changes to toughness and vice versa), leaving us with:

Base: 1/5

Add Jihad: 3/6

---

Q: Also what happened if I did either of the above then gave it +1/-1? What would happen?

-Bob M.

A: Since the card says do to toughness what effects want to do to power, you'd add one to toughness and subtract one from power.

---

Q: Can you play as many things as you want if you have the mana?

-Famouswr

A: Yes.

---

Q: If a cost says pay half your life and you have 0 or less life, can you pay that cost?

A: Yes. You will end up paying 0 life, since the game considers you to be at 0 for all purposes other than getting above 0, and half of 0 is 0.

---

Q: Why does an indestructible 0/0 creature die?

-Fernando G.

A: From the Comprehensive Rules:

420.5b A creature with toughness 0 or less is put into its owner’s graveyard. Regeneration can’t replace this event.

Nowhere in that rule does it say dying to 0 toughness is destruction. Since it doesn't say it, it is not a destruction effect. Thus, indestructibility won't apply.

---

Q: With the Darksteel Card Leonin Shikari in play and a Lightning Greaves, can you effectively safeguard all your creatures from one or more spells/abilities with single targets by equipping the Lightning Greaves onto the appropriate creature just before a spell/ability that targets it is about to resolve?

-Alan

A: Yes.

---

Q: How come some Lava Axes I own have the text: Lava Axe deals 5 damage to target player but on other Lava Axes it says: Lava Axe deals 5 damage to target opponent, I could see where I would want to use it on myself, i.e Convalescent Care just to draw the card for the win... so how do I play it?

-Dustin

A: All cards are played by their Oracle wording in tournaments (another link drop to visit http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/oracle to get your copy). The current Oracle wording for Lava Axe is:

Lava Axe

{4}{R}

Sorcery

Lava Axe deals 5 damage to target player.

See you Tuesday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge

 

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.