While this card is face-up on your side of the
field, once per turn you can look at the top card of
your Deck. If the card is a Normal Spell Card, send
it to the Graveyard and you can activate the Normal
Spell Card during the Main Phase of your next turn.
If the card is not a Normal Spell Card, place it on
the bottom of your deck.
Type - Warrior/Effect
Card Number - EOJ-JP003
Ratings are based on a 1 to 5 scale 1 being the worst.
3 ... average. 5 is the highest rating.
Date Reviewed - 06.05.06
D-Hero Diamond Dude
This card has so much combo potential it's sick.
I'm not going to spend 20 minutes repeating what
Metagame already said about this card, but here's
the basics of it; you look to see if your next card
is a spell; if it is, put it in the Graveyard, and
next turn you get the effect of that Spell without
having to pay any costs or fulfill any activation
requirements (so Card of Sanctity turns into Pot of
Greed, and you don't need those silly 10 Spell
counters to get the effect of Mega Ton Magical
This guy belongs in a combo deck, using ways to
manipulate the next draw (Big Eye; Pigeonholing
Books of Spell), a couple super-power cards like
Mega Ton and Ojama Delta Hurricane, and several good
but playable cards that you could play without
Diamond Dude's help in a pinch (Card of Sanctity,
He can wreck the metagame -- we just don't know how
Welcome back for a full fresh week of cards. This
week, I've decided we might as well start looking at
Enemy of Justice, the new set on the block.
Today we're looking at one of the new D-Heroes from
the set, D of course with "D" standing for Destiny.
This seems like a good idea for an article comparing
and contrasting D and E Heroes, but to the actual
Destiny Hero Diamond Dude is a Dark monster. He is
also Level 4 and a Warrior, all things he has going
for him all ready. This means he is searchable by
Mystic Tomato and Sangan primarily which are both
plusses with his 1400 attack.
1600 defense isn't that great either but might be
able to last you a turn or two. Now, the effect. For
some clarification, I posted the rulings on this
card below from UDE.
“Destiny Hero – Diamond Dude” doesn’t actually
activate the Normal Spell card itself. Instead, he
just activates its effect. So the Spell Card remains
in the Graveyard.
Since you are only activating the Normal Spell
Card’s effect, and not the Normal Spell Card itself,
you do not pay costs and you do not have to meet any
activation requirements. For example, you would not
pay 1000 Life Points for “Confiscation”, or discard
1 card for “Monster Reincarnation”, or need a
“Blue-Eyes White Dragon” on the field to activate
the effect of “Burst Stream of Destruction”.
Since the Spell Card itself is not activated (only
its effect is), your opponent cannot chain “Magic
Jammer”, “Dark Deal”, “Barrel Behind the Door” or
any other card that has to be chained to the
activation of a Spell Card.
When you resolve “Destiny Hero – Diamond Dude’s”
effect you (1) reveal the top card of your Deck,
then (2A) send it to your Graveyard if it is a
Normal Spell Card or (2B) return it to the bottom of
your Deck if it’s not. Activating that Spell Card’s
effect during your next turn is not activating
“Destiny Hero – Diamond Dude’s” effect at that time.
Even if “Destiny Hero – Diamond Dude” is not on the
field during your next turn’s Main Phases, you can
still activate the effect of that Normal Spell Card.
“Divine Wrath” can be chained to “Destiny Hero –
Ignition Effect when it is activated. You cannot
chain “Divine Wrath”
to the activation of the Normal Spell Card’s effect
during the next Main Phase (because “Destiny Hero –
Diamond Dude’s” effect is not activating at that
You can choose not to activate the Normal Spell Card
during your next turn if you do not want to.
The Normal Spell Card’s effect activates in the
Graveyard. So its effect will not be negated by
If the Normal Spell Card is no longer in your
Graveyard during your next turn, you cannot activate
If the effect of the Normal Spell Card targets, you
cannot activate the effect unless there is an
eligible target on the field.
If “Swords of Revealing Light” is sent to the
Graveyard by this effect you can activate it, but
only its effect that flips monsters face-up will
apply. It will not stop the opponent’s monsters from
attacking because it is not on the field.
You cannot activate the effect of “Curse of Fiend”,
because it can only be activated during the Standby
If you have activated the effect of “Destiny Hero –
Diamond Dude” and he is flipped face-down, then
face-up again in the same turn, you can activate his
Also, before you ask, I'm not sure in the slightest
what part of the turn you get to look at the top
card of your deck. Whether it is your Draw Phase
before you draw or your End Phase and wait until
your next turn.
2.3/5 all around, even in a D-Hero deck, the problem
is the fact that he must remain on the field to be
You stay classy, Planet Earth :)
Nick “wwncd“ Curtis
DESTINY HERO - DIAMOND DUDE (RARE) ATK - 1400 DEF -
1600 DARK 4* WARRIOR
(EFFECT) - WHILE THIS CARD IS FACE-UP ON YOUR SIDE
OF THE FIELD, YOU CAN LOOK AT THE TOP CARD OF YOUR
DECK. IF THE CARD IS A NORMAL SPELL CARD, SEND IT TO
THE GRAVEYARD AND YOU CAN ACTIVATE THE NORMAL SPELL
CARD DURING THE MAIN PHASE OF YOUR NEXT TURN. IF THE
CARD IS NOT A NORMAL SPELL CARD, PLACE IT ON THE
BOTTOM OF YOUR DECK.
Many duelists were cheering in the streets when they
found out this card would be released in EOJ, and
they have a good reason to be. Diamond dude, if used
right, can be a broken card in my opinion. His
effect allows you to use your deck in ways never
possible before. His effect lets you use the spell
card WITHOUT, yes I said without, placing the card
itself on the field! And, you don’t have to pay
costs on spell cards also! For example, if you use
his effect, and reveal a lightning vortex, next turn
you can use the vortex, without having to discard a
card from your hand! Rageki anyone? Plus use D
shield on him, you got a nice thing going my
friend….but don’t forget, it’s still situational.
Overall, this card is not meant to just be splashed
into a deck, but needs to be supported if you use
it. Possibly the best D-hero out now.
Ok, yeah I made a mistake, fine I admit that, I’ll
do better next time (I hope, thanks for not rubbing
it in anyway guys)
Anyway, now that unpleasantness is behind us lets
proceed with the review. D Hero diamond dude is a
very interesting monster all round. 1400 attack, (as
expected for control), 1600 def, decent, warrior,
gorgeous, dark, nice (tomato target and Sorcerer
food) and with an effect. A very interesting effect.
Diamond dude has what appears to be at first glance
a very basic, bog standard effect. You take a card
from the top of your deck, and if it’s a normal
spell you send it to the grave and activate it as
Diamond dudes from the grave during next turn in the
main phase. And, as always, if it isn’t place it on
the bottom of your deck. Hmm you think to your self.
Considering that roughly 3/8 of any deck are spells,
that could pretty much give me a free smashing , and
I don’t loose anything for doing it. Already that’s
not bad, but this is where it will get really
Since I’m pretty much always the last reviewer on
the page, I can assume that you’ve read this
already, which really takes away from the whole
‘drama’ of this but whatever. You see the thing
about Diamond dude is that he ignores activation
costs or requirements. Yeah, that’s right. Burst
stream of destruction, Ojama Trio, DES CROAKING !!
All these cards work !!! Mwahahaha you think to
yourself. With 3 of these, a few RotA’s and 3 Mystic
tomatoes, why, I’ll never lose !!!
Well the fact is you will. Whilst this deck may look
overpowering in theory, in reality you’ll find
yourself with clogged hands and the most dire top
decks of any semi - competitive, all for fun deck
there is. This again is proof that advantage isn’t
everything, since you’ll more than likely end up
with a hand of cards that cant do anything in your
hand at ALL, and then you’ll pray for your Diamond
dudes and sods law dictates you’ll effect into
another Diamond dude or a Tomato. Ouch.
Diamond dude is a sweet monster, but not in a deck
like that. It’d just insult him. Save him for D
hero’s and the occasional tomato control for a touch
of fun. Oh yeah, btw, his effect still activates
AFTER he dies as well, so no hindrance there, oh
yeah and it’s optional, so there you go.
Traditional ; 3/5 There are the REAL Raigeki’s and
Feather dusters here, so maybe.
Advanced : 3/5 Basically, he fits into both because
of Chaos, and can be equally hit and miss.
Art : 4/5 Pretty cool
MPS : 4/5 The first thing close to fun competitive
Copyrightę 1998-2005 pojo.com
This site is not sponsored, endorsed, or
otherwise affiliated with any of the companies or
products featured on this site.
This is not an Official Site.