We start the week with
It is a Normal Trap card, which makes it
reasonably versatile: best case scenario you might
be able to chain to another card trying to destroy
it for some card advantage.
I say advantage since the effect lets you
essentially trade this Trap for a monster from your
Graveyard and Special Summon it.
The only “costs” are a target restriction and
having to keep this card “alive” until it can go
restriction I am actually quite pleased with: the
monster you Special Summon must have been destroyed
by battle and sent to your Graveyard during this
The rulings for this card are as follows: you cannot
activate Miracle’s Wake during the Damage Step.
Seems kind of obvious to me, though with more
and more cards specifying they can be activated
during the Damage Step it probably needed to be
The only other ruling is also obvious: it targets
the monster you wish you revive with it.
I am rather enjoying the straightforward
nature of the card so far.
This is a card that shows Konami’s R&D are paying
attention, though that also means it is
demonstrative of power creep.
Past cards that were variations and/or weaker
versions of this effect were
Grave of Enkindling, Rope of
Life, and probably a few more.
Miracle’s Wake gives you a little more
flexibility in the timing: it can be activated in
the Battle Phase, Main Phase 2, or End Phase.
This can be important to spare the monster
being destroyed by battle over again and missing the
timing of certain effects (multiple attacks, many
monster removal effects, etc.). If you somehow can
get a monster destroyed by battle before the Battle
Phase, then I suppose you could activate it during
an earlier phase as well.
Miracle’s Wake isn’t going to work its way into every deck.
Monsters die by battle, but to die by other
means is just more likely.
The restriction of “death by battle” is an
effective balancing agent: this is definitely not
Call of the
Monster Reborn. Mostly
you’ll use it for smaller monsters that weren’t
worth killing via effect, either because you just
need fodder or because said monster had a useful
You may even use it on your turn: ram a
Mystic Tomato into an opponent’s monster to search out a Tuner, then
revive it and ram again for a
Should something large actually be destroyed by
battle, unless its own effects prevent this, then
you can revive it no problem.
Now, if your opponent took something like a
Stardust Dragon out this way, odds are they either still have a big
monster capable of doing it again or you got nailed
by a well timed
Book of Moon. In the
case of the latter, good deal: traded a Trap for a
Spell, Trap, Honest, whatever. In the
case of a big monster running the resurrected
monster over, it is still a good deal.
Just not as good: I’d still like to have
Dragon back so it can protect me from being
blown up, even if it might get taken down again next
You’d have a whole turn to remedy the situation,
The important thing is that it won’t set up
for massive swings that will end the game within the
first three turns.
I prefer my cards underpowered to needing to be
banned, so I still call this card a success.
Your average deck will have better options
for fodder and many even have better options for
run this and get a decent return from it: your deck
just won’t be optimized.
There are even some specialty decks that can
probably do well with it: decks where the monsters
have some protective effects so your opponent has to
take them down in battle, or where “suiciding” into
your opponent’s monsters is part of some master
I am still selling my former collectables on eBay.
I’ve had a lot of hobbies over the years, so at
various times I’ll have comic books, manga, action
figures, and video games on the auction block.
You can take a look at what’s up for bids
here. I usually add new stuff on
Wednesdays and Saturdays. Just a reminder,
Pojo is in no way responsible for any transactions
and was merely kind enough to let me mention the
auctions here. ;)
Miracle's Wake, a card that's not quite as
miraculous as it seems, is a Normal Trap. You
can select one monster that was destroyed by Battle
and Special Summon it. This seems all well and
good but for starters, it has to be one destroyed
during this turn, and it can only be your monster.
So it can't be something you destroyed of your
Odds are, if the monster was destroyed during this
turn, it will likely be again. I mean, it's a
good thing I suppose that it doesn't specify what
position the monster has to be Special Summoned it,
and it doesn't disappear after the turn, and this
isn't a Continuous Trap, so it's not all bad.