When this card you control is destroyed by your opponent's attack or card effect and sent to the Graveyard, you can select 1 "Stardust Dragon" in your Graveyard, and Special Summon it in face-up Defense Position. You can remove from play this card from your Graveyard to select 1 face-up Dragon-Type Synchro Monster you control. Once per turn, that Synchro Monster cannot be destroyed by battle. At the end of each Damage Step this effect is applied, that Synchro Monster loses 800 ATK and DEF.
Ratings are based on a 1 to 5 scale
1 being the worst.
3 is average.
5 is the highest rating.
Date Reviewed - Feb. 25, 2011
Okay, don't try to read its effect. Here's what
it does: Something kills it. Optional effect means
it'll never actually go off. Revive Stardust in DEF.
Remove it in the grave to give battle immunity to a
Dragon Synchro, but it loses 800 points each time it
The only thing Stardust Phantom almost does well
is reviving Stardust Dragon. And that's still
situational, since you aren't always going to have a
dead Stardust outside of Starlight Road. The battle
immunity effect is pretty crappy, too, but using it
on Stardust means you can sacrifice and clear it
when something other than battle harms it. If you
can get that little combo off, you're in the clear
for a while, but only a while. Because Brionac is
Fun Fact: When Pokemon says "95% accuracy" it really
means "40% accuracy"
Hey, Pojo, Assailant here with your Card of the
Day. Today's card is Stardust Phantom, a so-so card
from Storm of Ragnarok. It's a Light,
Spellcaster-type with, somewhat negligible stats of,
um.....how can I say this....um..0 ATK and 0 DEF.
Yep, that's epicness right there. Crappy stats
aside, its effect is of at least passing interest.
Actually this card effectively has two effects,
(That's supposed to be funny.....No, not really.) so
I'll get to each of them in turn. Just be patient,
okay? Gosh! Anyway, its first effect is this: when
it is destroyed by your opponent in any way, you can
special summon a Stardust Dragon from your graveyard
in defense position. Now there are two things that
should be noted about this: firstly, it must be your
opponent’s effect. Not yours, not the guy's sitting
three seats down from you playing Blackwings (Oops,
not anymore. Ha!), YOUR OPPONENT. And that leads me
to the second thing; due to the fact that it has to
be your opponent, you can't use the good ol' “play
it in attack, Creature Swap it for your opponent’s
monster, then run it over for massive damage AND get
its effect”. So that just bites. Now, on to the
second effect. You can remove it from play to grant
a permanent effect to a Dragon-type synchro you
control, the effect being this: once per turn that
synchro monster is not destroyed by battle, but each
time that happens, said synchro monster loses 800
ATK at the end of the damage step. I really don't
see any of the Dragon-type synchro monsters wanting
to lose 800 ATK. Ever. I grant you that if you use
this card on Stardust Dragon, then tribute and
revive it using its own effect, its attack will be
at its original… but it will have also lost the
protection ability. Plus, if you have a -800 ATK
Stardust Dragon on the field, I'm just going to run
it over rather than destroy it with a card effect
anyway. All in all, its second effect is… bad to be
positive about it.
Oh, and you can't use its summon ability on a
Stardust Dragon that was brought out by Starlight
Road. Just thought I'd crush that hope as it slowly
forms in your head.
I believe I have expressed leeriness of any card
that relies solely on synchro monsters. This card
falls squarely into that category. This card should
have no place in any deck, except for possibly one
that is made to do one thing, and one thing only:
summon Stardust Dragon. Other than that, I don't
think there is anything comparable to a use for this
Art: You gotta love his pointy shoes. I mean, if
nothing else, you gotta love those. ^_^
More Stardust support, because it needed it
Well Phantom is a level 1 LIGHT spellcaster with
0/0 stats. Its looking bad already.
Well, when its destroyed by battle you can
special summon Stardust Dragon from your grave. Now,
theres a few things wrong with this.
1st, if stardust is in the grave, its probably in
there because of its own effect and will come back
later on its own accord.
2nd, If stardust was brought to the field via
starlight road, then this cant bring it back anyway.
3rd. Stardust was destroyed by battle. This is
the ONLY case this effect would be useful in.
Its other effect is you can remove it from play
from the grave to give a dragon synchro you control
a once per turn battle immunity, but that synchro
loses 800 attack and defense at the end of the
damage step. So if you target Stardust, it will
probably negate a spell and trap and come back with
full attack and defense, but will lose the battle
immunity, making removing him from play pointless or
if it was another Dragon synchro it will become
weaker and weaker untill its useless.
1/5 Both formats
This is a cool little card, but another where
card rulings destroyed any chance of it being truly
playable. He is a level 1 LIGHT Spellcaster with 0
ATK and 0 DEF and it is not even a Tuner, which
means that I am going to be hard pressed to find a
spot for this card.
The effect is that when he is sent to the
graveyard by your opponent (by anything) you can
Special Summon a Stardust Dragon from your graveyard
in Defense position. And you can remove it from play
once per turn to have a Dragon Synchro monster not
be destroyed by battle once and then it loses 800
ATK. This can actually be pretty cool, but again the
rulings kill it. You could have used a card to
discard Stardust Dragons from your extra deck, but
they weren't properly summoned, so rulings say no.
You can't use it on Stardust Dragon that was
summoned from Starlight Road or on any other
iteration of Stardust Dragon (Malefic, Majestic Star
Dragon, Shooting Star Dragon or Stardust Dragon
So this card is really good, but is just so
narrow in it's application and rulings that it is
almost completely useless. Thanks Konami. You're the
Copyrightę 1998-2011 pojo.com
This site is not sponsored, endorsed, or
otherwise affiliated with any of the companies or
products featured on this site.
This is not an Official Site.