Draw until you have 3 cards in your hand, also for the rest of this turn after this card resolves, your opponent takes no damage. During the End Phase of this turn, send your entire hand to the Graveyard. You can only activate 1 "Card of Demise" per turn. You cannot Special Summon during the turn you activate this card.
Ratings are based on a 1 to 5 scale
1 is Horrible.
3 is Average.
5 is the highest rating.
Date Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2017
We reviewed this card in April, and since then it
barely missed pojo’s top 10 list of 2016. At the
time, I wasn’t too sure of its abilities outside of
an OTK deck. The only thing worth mentioning was
that Card of Demise let a player draw 3 cards, and
any card that lets you draw 2+ is eventually going
to be abused in the right circumstances and then
banned sometime after that. This rule of Yu-Gi-Oh
has never been broken. If you don’t believe me, look
at what Wonder Wand is currently doing in the OCG,
when it was released all the way back in 2011. You
think that card won’t be getting hit soon?
Soon after pojo’s review, Qliphort Demise made its
debut with some high-profile finishes in big
tournaments. And the deck capitalized on all the
circumstances I highlighted: not needing a hand and
having ways to stash the plusses. Upon further
reflection, I realize that it’s pendulum monsters
that truly unlocked the potential of Card of Demise.
It doesn’t always have to be the case, but because
decks can now place up to 8 spell/trap cards on the
field, Card of Demise is maximized in potential.
Before pendulums, only 6 were possible. Qliphort
Demise decks showcased Card of Demise’s strength by
including a mixture of pendulums, field spells, and
then a swath of spells and traps that were pretty
much all hate and forced the opponent to overcome
more obstacles than you normally could ever prepare
for, especially in duel #1 of the match.
So, my opinion of the card really hasn’t changed
future potential of this card can’t be ignored.
Drawing 3 cards is drawing 3 cards, and all cards
that let a player plus like that get banned
it will only be good in the right deck, and themes
come and go. Card of Demise will see highs and lows,
as well, until the day it’s too abusable to be
Future Potential: 4.5/5
Hello Pojo Fans,
Happy New Year Everyone!
This week we're profiling cards that just missed out
on the Top 10 of 2016. Starting things off is Card
Players have wanted this card for a long time, and
they weren't disappointed when it finally debuted.
Draw till you have three is a great amount of hand
advantage possibility. The “no damage” is a balance
to limit the power CoD has. Whatever is left in your
hand at the end of the turn goes to the grave, which
can be a benefit more than a disadvantage. Not a
cost, but a condition, sending your hand to the
grave will activate any card effects that benefit
from an effect like this. Burning Abyss and Shaddoll
are some of the archetypes that will run this card
and machine gun their effects at the End Phase.
Topdecking this card when low on a hand will
instantly revitalize your plays, and playing out
your whole hand will negate the discard condition.
While you can't finish someone off after you play
this card, it will allow you to set up to do so
Card of Demise is a set up card, as well as
topdeckings saving grace.
This card just doesn't make the cut. Card of
Demise has huge drawbacks. The main one is the
restriction of Special Summoning for the entire
turn. You also have to discard your entire Hand
during the End Phase. Finally, your opponent takes
no damage for the rest of the turn. All for at most
3 cards. It's just not worth all the restrictions.
It also quickly got out shown by easier draw cards.
There are instances where this card can be very
useful, but I don't think it will see as much play
in the future.
Art: 3/5 The name should have been Cards of Demise.
Card of Demise, a character card of Kaiba, on the
original anime. Kaiba's version was far
superior, as it let you Draw until you held five
cards, and then you discard your Hand after five
turns. Here, you Draw until you hold three
cards. If you held no cards, this would be a
+2 for you, although you do discard your Hand during
the End Phase. If you play the cards in your
Hand so there's nothing to discard, I suppose that's
an out. But your opponent takes no Damage (not
just no Battle Damage, but no Damage at all) until
the End of the turn in which this card resolves.
Furthermore, you can't Special Summon during the
turn you play this. I don't feel that last
part is necessary, but I suppose, at least in
theory, it keeps this card from being broken?
There's better Draw cards with less restrictions,
because that, in addition to not being able to
Damage the opponent, likely will only Damage you.
It's not useless, but it's not particularly good,
Copyrightę 1998-2016 pojo.com
This site is not sponsored, endorsed, or
otherwise affiliated with any of the companies or
products featured on this site.
This is not an Official Site.