Target 1 face-up Special Summoned monster on the field; it has its effects negated, also its original ATK is halved. If a monster is Special Summoned from your opponent's Extra Deck, while this card is in the Graveyard (except during the Damage Step): You can Set this card, but banish it when it leaves the field.
Ratings are based on a 1 to 5 scale
1 is Horrible.
3 is Average.
5 is the highest rating.
Date Reviewed: March 20, 2017
Breakthrough Skill 2.0, now with karate chop action!
No, in all seriousness, Lost Wind is an intense and
fantastic trap card that should be relevant and
possibly even a deck standard in 2017. It really
depends on what the Zelda format brings to the table
once the full measure of the first round of link
monsters are revealed.
Regardless, this is a great trap with a unique
recovery mechanic that I wish was employed more
often. Instead of the standard “banish this in the
graveyard to (effect here)” it allows you to gain
what amounts to a plus. Now at first, I thought that
maybe the delay in using the second effect was too
costly, since you’d have to wait a turn to use it,
but I see huge potential in this card not just
because the effect is permanent, which is huge, but
also because of the Shrink effect. The fact of the
matter is that unless shown otherwise, the advent of
link monsters and the new extra deck rules currently
foreshadows a much slower pace and a meta more
reliant on boss monsters. Unless you’re running a
deck focusing on link monsters, you are only going
to have main deck plays and a once-per-turn extra
deck summon. To both permanently negate the effect
and halve the ATK of such bosses could potentially
be huge. To be able to do it twice should be
extremely potent. And let’s not forget that the
Zelda format might leave a gaping hole in many
players’ trap lineups since Dimensional Barrier
won’t have any bearing on link monsters. If Decode
Talker becomes the new beast of Yu-Gi-Oh, for
instance, it could be enormously important to stop
him, and tagging him with Lost Wind permanently
before he can link new monsters to himself would
accomplish that just fine.
The Yu-Gi-Oh world is abuzz with link summoning
news, which throws every previously released card
into a new light. We won’t know the full impact
until they are finally released, but until then,
it’s fun to talk about. Next week, we will be
reviewing cards that have been talked about the most
since we first got the VRAINS announcement, but Lost
Wind should definitely be on the list of cards to
stockpile in 2017. I see nothing but good things
ahead and it should see play for years.
Future Potential: 5/5
Hello Pojo Fans,
Lost Wind is a one-two punch to your opponent,
and can recycle itself once over.
For Special Summoned monsters only (not a
problem), half the ATK and negate any effects.
Simple, effective, game-changing. Use it during
either turn for the ATK loss, or during the
opponents turn as another way to stop monster
effects. Lost Wind then can recycle itself back to
the field face-down if your opponent Special Summons
a monster. Sure, it's banished once it leaves the
field, but to get two Shrinks and two Effect Veilers
in one card is fantastic. The big payoff is that it
doesn't have a restriction of being used once per
turn or not being able to reset itself on the field
the same turn it hit the graveyard. This card can
seriously slow down the opponents moves and cripple
their boss monsters. In the cases of Effect Veiler,
Breakthrough Skill, Fiendish Chain, etc. the
opponent could always tribute the monster or use it
as a material for a different Special Summon
(Fusion, Xyz, Synchro) and you would have no answer
for the new monster. With Lost Wind, you do.
The conditions are just right for a good card.
Lost Wind is a Normal Trap that negates a targeted
face up monster's effects and halves that monster's
original Atk. Do you know what that means? It can be
activated during the Damage Step. Any trap that can
be activated any time makes that trap better.
Especially when that effect has no cost. The monster
has to be a Special Summoned monster, but it can be
on either side of the field. Not that you would want
to negate your own effects, but options are nice.
The second effect's conditions are a lot steeper.
When a monster is Special Summoned from the
opponent's Extra Deck, this card can set itself to
the field from the grave. Then it will banish itself
when it leaves the field, either after activating or
if it leaves some other way. I'm fairly certain you
can activate a card that prevents banishing after
Lost Wind has been re-set to keep it in the grave
and available. Finally, multiple Lost Wind cards
should be able to activate per turn. Definitely a
good card to own even if it will mainly live in the
Copyrightę 1998-2017 pojo.com
This site is not sponsored, endorsed, or
otherwise affiliated with any of the companies or
products featured on this site.
This is not an Official Site.