| 
						
					 | 
					  | 
					  | 
					
                           
                        Pojo's Magic The Gathering 
                        Judge's Corner
						 
                        Okay … I've been getting 
                        a lot of repeat questions dealing with protection and 
                        trample. I've been trying to hold off on new mantras, 
                        but I now have to add two in one column, dealing with 
                        protection and trample. Questions first, mantras follow, 
                        then a mantra compilation before I answer the other 
                        questions. 
                         
                        As a side note, I had to separate the questions that 
                        generated the mantras from the other questions sent by 
                        those persons. So if you are one of the two people who 
                        sent the first two questions, keep reading … your other 
                        questions are down below. 
                         
                        --- 
                         
                        Q: I am a big Iridescent Angel fan... but can I enchant 
                        it with Armadillo Cloak? Does it get +1/+1 from Mirari's 
                        Wake? Can I give it +7/+7 with Might of Oaks?  
                         
                        -Beth W. 
                         
                        A: Mantra #4 - "Protection is a DEBT we owe some of our 
                        permanents." 
                         
                        DEBT is an acronym. It stands for Damage, Enchantments, 
                        Blocking, and Targeting, which are the 4 things you 
                        can't do to a creature with protection. 
                         
                        For an extended definition, protection is usually 
                        written on a card as "Protection from [quality]." (For 
                        example, "Protection from green.")  
                         
                        -Damage: All damage dealt to the permanent from a source 
                        with the stated quality is prevented. 
                        -Enchantments: The permanent can't be enchanted by 
                        permanents with the stated quality. 
                        -Blocking: The permanent can't be blocked by permanents 
                        with the stated quality. 
                        -Targeting: The permanent can't be targeted by spells 
                        with the stated quality, or abilities from permanents 
                        with the stated quality. (Remember Mantra #3 here, 
                        repeated below.) 
                         
                        So your answers are no, yes, no. 
                         
                        --- 
                         
                        Q: Is there such a thing as "Pro-trample damage"? 
                         
                        Example: My friend plays an Avatar of Might and ends his 
                        turn. I play a Floating Shield (Pro Green) on my 
                        Stormscape Familiar and end my turn. He attacks with his 
                        Avatar and I block with my Familiar. Do I take any 
                        damage at all? 
                         
                        A: Mantra #5: When assigning trample, look only at the 
                        toughness of the blocking creatures. Assign damage so 
                        that they would have that much damage on them, and then 
                        you can assign the other damage to your opponent. 
                         
                        I know, it's a little unwieldy, but I couldn't make it 
                        any shorter. Sorry. 
                         
                        Note: You can assign the extra damage to the creatures 
                        if you want, or assign all the damage to one or more 
                        creatures (even though the damage being dealt is greater 
                        than the toughness of that creature) and none to the 
                        other creatures. But you have to assign damage as the 
                        mantra says before you can assign trample damage to your 
                        opponent. 
                         
                        Example 1: Your example. The Avatar only needs to assign 
                        1 damage to the Familiar, and can assign the other 7 
                        damage to either you or the Familiar in any combination 
                        your opponent likes. 
                         
                        Example 2: He attacks with the Avatar again. You block 
                        with Commander Eesha (2/4, Flying, Protection from 
                        Creatures) this time. He only needs to assign 4 to Eesha, 
                        and can assign the other 4 between you and Eesha, again, 
                        in any combination he likes. 
                         
                        Example 3: The next turn rolls around, and he plays a 
                        Powerstone Minefield before attacking. You block with 
                        Eesha again. Since Eesha already has 2 damage on her 
                        when it's time to assign damage, your opponent only 
                        needs to assign 2 damage to Eesha, and can assign the 
                        other 6 to you. 
                         
                        --- 
                         
                        OK. Now it's time for a Mantra Review. The Mantras 
                        first, followed by footnotes. 
                         
                        1. "I can't play any spells or abilities while something 
                        is resolving." (18 April) 
                        2. "Increasing the power of creatures once their damage 
                        has been put on the stack won't make them do more 
                        damage." (13 May) (Footnote A) 
                        3. "If the card doesn't say 'TARGET,' it doesn't 
                        target." (31 May) 
                        4. "Protection is a DEBT we owe some of our permanents." 
                        (26 September) (Footnote B) 
                        5. "When assigning trample, look only at the toughness 
                        of the blocking creatures. Assign damage so that they 
                        would have that much damage on them, and then you can 
                        assign the other damage to your opponent." (26 
                        September) (Footnote C) 
                         
                        Footnote A: A corollary to this mantra is, "Decreasing 
                        the power of creatures after damage is on the stack 
                        won't make them do less damage." (14 June) 
                         
                        Footnote B: DEBT is an acronym. It stands for Damage, 
                        Enchantments, Blocking, and Targeting, which are the 4 
                        things you can't do to a creature with protection. 
                         
                        For an extended definition, protection is usually 
                        written on a card as "Protection from [quality]." (For 
                        example, "Protection from green.")  
                         
                        -Damage: All damage dealt to the permanent from a source 
                        with the stated quality is prevented. 
                        -Enchantments: The permanent can't be enchanted by 
                        permanents with the stated quality. 
                        -Blocking: The permanent can't be blocked by permanents 
                        with the stated quality. 
                        -Targeting: The permanent can't be targeted by spells 
                        with the stated quality, or abilities from permanents 
                        with the stated quality. (Remember Mantra #3.) 
                         
                        Footnote C: You can assign the extra damage to the 
                        creatures if you want, or assign all the damage to one 
                        or more creatures (even though the damage being dealt is 
                        greater than the toughness of that creature) and none to 
                        the other creatures. But you have to assign damage as 
                        the mantra says before you can assign trample damage to 
                        your opponent. 
                         
                        --- 
                         
                        Boy, this is starting to get a little large with the 
                        footnotes. Hopefully though, you won't need to remember 
                        the footnotes after you've applied the mantras once or 
                        twice. 
                         
                        Remember, once I've issued a Mantra, I generally won't 
                        answer any questions that it answers. 
                         
                        --- 
                         
                        Now, on to the other questions… 
                         
                        Q: I'm using Yawgmoth's Agenda. Are the cards in my 
                        graveyard discardable or only useable in the spell 
                        sense? I'm saying, does my graveyard basically become my 
                        hand? 
                         
                        -Nmac027 
                         
                        A: The only thing you can do with a Yawgmoth's Agenda 
                        out is play the cards in your graveyard. You can't do 
                        anything else with them that you couldn't normally. 
                         
                        --- 
                         
                        Q: I have a question about Abundance and Words of 
                        Wilding. If I have an Abundance in play and a Words of 
                        Wilding in play, may I use Abundance's ability and in my 
                        response to my using Abundance's ability may I use 
                        Word's of Wilding to put a 2/2 bear creature token into 
                        play and still get a card into my hand through 
                        Abundance? 
                         
                        -Scott F. 
                         
                        A: No. Once you replace the draw with either the 
                        Abundance effect or the Words effect, the other effect 
                        doesn't have a draw to replace, so it won't happen. So 
                        you can either put a Bear into play, or choose land or 
                        nonland and reveal cards until you hit what you chose. 
                         
                        419.8a If two or more replacement or prevention effects 
                        are attempting to modify the way an event affects a 
                        permanent or player, the affected permanent's controller 
                        or the affected player chooses one to apply to that 
                        permanent or player. Then the other applies if it is 
                        still appropriate. If one or more of the applicable 
                        replacement effects is a "self-replacement effect" (see 
                        rule 419.6d), that effect is applied before any other 
                        replacement effects. 
                         
                        --- 
                         
                        Q: My friend has a Thorn Elemental and a Bloodshot 
                        Cyclops in play. He attacks with his Thorn Elemental and 
                        it deals 7 damage to me. In his second main phase he 
                        sacrifices his Thorn Elemental with the Bloodshot's 
                        ability on me. Am I able to use a Chastise in response 
                        to his Bloodshot's ability?  
                         
                        -Alex Y. 
                         
                        A: No. Once you go into the second main phase, the 
                        Cyclops is no longer attacking. 
                         
                        308.5. A creature becomes an attacking creature when it 
                        has been declared as part of a legal attack and all 
                        attack costs have been paid, but only if it's controlled 
                        by the active player. It remains an attacking creature 
                        until it's removed from combat or the combat phase ends, 
                        whichever comes first. The nonactive player is 
                        considered to have been attacked that turn at this time 
                        if one or more creatures are attacking. 
                         
                        --- 
                         
                        Q: When my friend declares his attackers, can I tap one 
                        of his attackers using a Benalish Trapper so that it is 
                        remove from combat? 
                         
                        A: No. You have to tap it before it is declared as an 
                        attacker (typically, in the beginning of combat step. If 
                        the creature is declared as an attacker, tapping (or 
                        untapping) it won't remove it from combat. 
                         
                        Attacking Creature 
                        A creature becomes an attacking creature when (a) it's 
                        declared as part of a legal attack during the combat 
                        phase and (b) all attack costs have been paid. It 
                        remains an attacking creature until it's removed from 
                        combat, it stops being a creature, its controller 
                        changes, or the combat phase ends. Attacking creatures 
                        don't exist outside of the combat phase. See rule 308, 
                        "Declare Attackers Step." 
                         
                        --- 
                         
                        Q: My friend has an Avatar of Might in play and I have a 
                        Jackal Pup in play. He attacks with his Avatar and I 
                        block it with my Jackal pup. So, do I take 16 damage 
                        altogether or do I only take 9 damage? 
                         
                        A: No matter how trample damage is assigned, you will 
                        only take 8 damage. 
                         
                        --- 
                         
                        Q: My friend and I have a Prodigal Sorcerer each in 
                        play. He uses his ability and attempts to kill my 
                        Prodigal Sorcerer. I responded by playing my Prodigal 
                        Sorcerer's ability and targeted his Prodigal Sorcerer. 
                        So do my prodigal sorcerer die? Since I played "in 
                        response", my ability should resolve faster than him 
                        right? Or am I wrong? 
                         
                        -Darren N. 
                         
                        A: Both Prodigal Sorcerers will die. 
                         
                        No spell or ability is “faster” than another spell or 
                        ability. They all go on the stack, in the order they 
                        were played, and resolve one at a time. Some spells or 
                        abilities just have restrictions on when you can play 
                        them. 
                         
                        402.6. Once activated or triggered, an ability exists 
                        independently of its source (the card on which it's 
                        printed) as a pseudospell on the stack. Destruction or 
                        removal of the source after that time won't affect the 
                        ability. Note that some abilities cause a source to do 
                        something (for example, "Prodigal Sorcerer deals 1 
                        damage to target creature or player") rather than the 
                        ability doing anything directly. In these cases, any 
                        spell, activated ability, or triggered ability that 
                        references information about the source will check that 
                        information when the ability resolves, or will use the 
                        source's last known information if it's no longer in 
                        play. 
                         
                        --- 
                         
                        Q: Can I enchant my opponent?  
                         
                        A: Outside of playing with Unglued cards, no. 
                         
                        --- 
                         
                        Q: … Like with that enchantment that says you don't lose 
                        the game with 0 life you lose when you have 20 or more 
                        and you gain 2 life for each 1 life you lose? 
                         
                        -Beth W. 
                         
                        A: If you play Transcendance, it will be under your 
                        control and affect you. You cannot play a global 
                        enchantment card and have it affect your opponent 
                        (unless the card says to). 
                         
                        --- 
                         
                        Q: Let's say I have an Academy Rector in play and my 
                        opponent has a Blastoderm. He attacks and I block with 
                        the Rector. The Rector dies. I go fetch a Confiscate. 
                        Can I Confiscate the Blastoderm? 
                         
                        -Tin.it 
                         
                        A: Yes. Enchantment spells only target when they are 
                        being cast. Since you are not casting Confiscate, but 
                        putting it into play instead, you can put it on 
                        something untargetable. 
                         
                        --- 
                         
                        Correction: 
                         
                        C: You recently addressed the following inquiry: 
                         
                        >>>Q: My friend plays a promo Japanese Shivan Dragon in 
                        type II on the table next to me, and his opponent 
                        notices that the card wasn't the real 7th edition Shivan 
                        Dragon, he said it was give out from the magazine from 
                        Japan, so he ask me does the player get a penalty for 
                        that? I told him that I need to see the card, and the 
                        card has exactly the same back, casting cost, artist, 
                        and so it was published by Wizards, so I say yes he may 
                        play the card since the card was fit to the rule, am I 
                        right? 
                         
                        -bahamut o. 
                         
                        A: First of all, I am assuming you are talking about the 
                        card that was included in Coro Coro #281. (For 
                        reference, I found this information at the Magic 
                        Rarities page, and the specific link is http://www.flaminio.com/magic/rarities-comics.html). 
                        I have not seen the card, but if it is that card, then I 
                        believe it would be legal for play in any format that 
                        Shivan Dragon is legal for play."<<< 
                         
                        Just a note, the Coro Coro #281 Shivan Dragon does not 
                        have the traditional M:tG back. I have one. It is a 
                        promo card with a stylized 7th edition logo. Whatever 
                        Shivan Dragon the player in the question was using 
                        sounds like it was just a "normal" foreign language 
                        version. It would have patently obvious if it was the 
                        Coro Coro version. 
                         
                        -Michael S. 
                         
                        A: Thank you for the correction. 
                         
                        See you Monday. 
                         
                        -Bill Guerin 
                        PojoMagicJudge@hotmail.com 
                        DCI Level 2 Judge 
  
						  
					 |