|  |  |  |  Pojo's Magic The Gathering
 Judge's Corner
 12.05.02  Various 
                        Questions from Fans answered Short Answers:
 -You can’t cast Meddle on a card that is targeting 
                        multiple creatures.
 
 -In Constructed tournaments, you can play with any 
                        printing of a card if there is a card with that name 
                        that is legal in the format (Universal Tournament Rules, 
                        section 51). For instance, you can play with a Starter 
                        Volcanic Hammer in Standard (Type 2), since Volcanic 
                        Hammer is in Seventh Edition, and Seventh Edition is a 
                        legal set in Standard. You could also play with an 
                        Underground River from Deckmasters in the same 
                        tournament.
 
 -If you have no cards in your graveyard, and you attack 
                        with a Rotting Giant, it will be sacrificed long before 
                        it would deal its damage.
 
 -You can’t change the target of a spell or ability once 
                        it has been played, unless a spell or ability allows you 
                        to do so. If the target becomes illegal, the spell is 
                        countered. You don’t change the target.
 
 ---
 
 Long Answers:
 
 Q: If I have a Demonic Hordes in play and it is already 
                        tapped while my opponent plays a Shackles on it 
                        preventing it from being untapped during my untap phase, 
                        do I have to pay it's upkeep cost of BBB since the card 
                        states if I do not, then it becomes tapped and one of my 
                        lands are destroyed?
 
 -Phamus
 
 A: Yes. You can tap a tapped card just fine.
 
 ---
 
 Q: If I cast a Quicksilver Dagger on one of my 
                        opponent’s creatures, what happens? Can he tap to use 
                        the Dagger, and if so who picks the target player to 
                        damage and who draws the card?
 
 A: Quicksilver Dagger
 {1}{U}{R}
 Enchant Creature
 Enchanted creature has "{T}: This creature deals 1 
                        damage to target player. You draw a card."
 
 Since Quicksilver Dagger grants the creature an ability, 
                        only the owner of the creature can use that ability. The 
                        person who played the ability (which is the owner of the 
                        creature it is on at the time the ability is played) 
                        will draw the card.
 
 To help here, when the game says “Enchanted creature has 
                        …,” imagine the game takes a sharpie and writes the 
                        ability in quotes on the card.
 
 ---
 
 Q: What about Soul Link on an opponent’s creature?
 
 -Michael W.
 
 A: Soul Link
 {1}{W}{B}
 Enchant Creature
 Whenever enchanted creature deals damage, you gain that 
                        much life.
 Whenever enchanted creature is dealt damage, you gain 
                        that much life.
 
 Since Soul Link isn’t granting the creature an ability, 
                        the owner of Soul Link will gain the life whenever the 
                        creature deals or is dealt damage.
 
 ---
 
 Q: Say I have 4 random elves out and I drop Voice of the 
                        Woods this turn. Can I tap all 5 of the elves before my 
                        next upkeep to get my 7/7 trampler? Or does the Voice's 
                        ability have summoning sickness?
 
 -Ben W.
 
 A: “None of these abilities include the tap symbol, so 
                        you can use the ability even if the creature hasn't been 
                        under your control since your turn began.” (Onslaught 
                        FAQ)
 
 So you can immediately make a 7/7.
 
 See you Monday.
 
 Bill Guerin
 PojoMagicJudge@hotmail.com
 DCI Level 2 Judge
 
   |