| 
			 | 
		
			 | 
		
			 | 
		
			 | 
		
			 | 
		
			 | 
		
			 | 
		
			 | 
	|||
			![]()  | 
	||||||||||
| 
			 | 
		
			 | 
	|||||||||
			![]()  | 
		
			 | 
	|||||||||
| 
			 | 
	||||||||||
						
  | 
					
                         
 Re: Champions of Kamigawa 
							9.1.04  
                             
						Questions: 7 
                          As we are starting to get 
                          a few cards out for the new set, I have a few comments 
                          about what I will and will not answer with regards to 
                          a new set in this column. It was summed up nicely some 
                          time ago, and I repeat it each time a new set starts 
                          to get cards revealed: 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          This is my policy on 
                          answering cards before the release of the official 
                          list (which will likely be on 19 September): 
                        
                          1) You must provide me 
                          with the full rules text of the card. I will answer 
                          the question based on the rules text you give me. If 
                          the rules text you give me turns out to be different 
                          that the actual rules text, then it may change the 
                          ruling. 
                         
                        
                          2) I will not answer 
                          questions that deal with a block or set mechanic until 
                          the FAQ for the set has been released, unless the 
                          mechanic has been seen in another set previously, in 
                          which case I will rule based on what we currently know 
                          about the mechanic. 
                         
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          In addition, I need you to 
                          hold all questions related to multiple legendary 
                          permanents of the same name for a little bit. (For 
                          those who are unaware, Mark Rosewater, in
                          
                          his column Monday, informed us there is a new rule 
                          for legendary permanents as of Champions.) 
                        
                          I will be writing a column 
                          about prereleases in my last normal column before the 
                          prerelease. I will also be moving that column, which 
                          is scheduled to post 16 September, up one day, and 
                          post it 15 September (Thursday instead of Friday). 
                          That column will deal only with the prerelease. I will 
                          not be answering any reader rules questions in that 
                          column - it will strictly be information about the 
                          prerelease and Champions. 
                        
                          I will be going over the 
                          new legends rule in that column. (I want to see the 
                          FAQ, which should give us plenty of information about 
                          it, to have solid information about it before I pass 
                          it on.) 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          Now that I have that out 
                          of the way, we can get to the questions... 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          Q: My opponent plays 
                          Goblin Charbelcher, and activates it targeting me.  He 
                          reveals his entire deck, and there is no land in the 
                          deck... how much damage do I take? 
                        A: You take damage equal to the number of cards revealed (which is the number of cards in his deck). You don't have to reveal a land to do the damage. 
                          --- 
                        
                          Q: There is a Chalice of 
                          the Void out with 4 charge counters on it... Does that 
                          mean that if I play Last Word, it is countered? Or 
                          does the effect of it take place, and ignore Chalice? 
                        
                          A: Chalice will attempt to 
                          counter the Last Word, and fail. Then Last Word will 
                          counter the spell it's targeting. 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          Q: If I play Chalice of 
                          the Void for zero, can I later on play a Chalice for 1 
                          or 2? ( or any number for that matter?) Or does 
                          Chalice count as 0 cc no matter how much you spend 
                          when you play it?  Or does Chalice count as, say, 2 
                          mana cc if I play it for 4 mana? 
                        
                          -Kyle F. 
                        
                          A: X, anywhere but on the 
                          stack, is 0. So a Chalice in play has a mana cost of 
                          0, but a Chalice on the stack is 2 times the number of 
                          charge counters you will be putting on it. So, if you 
                          have a Chalice with 0 charge counters on it, and you 
                          play a Chalice for one charge counter, the Chalice 
                          being played has a mana cost of 2, and won't be 
                          countered by a Chalice with 0 counters on it. 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          Q: Your combat phase 
                          breakdown helped me some... but I am still a bit 
                          confused on something.  If I don't declare attackers; 
                          will the combat phase not have happened? 
                        
                          -Jon N. 
                        
                          A: The combat phase always 
                          happens. If you don't declare any attackers, the game 
                          will skip the Declare Blockers and Combat Damage 
                          steps. So the steps in a combat phase with no 
                          attackers go as follows: 
                        
                          -Beginning of Attack step 
                          (both players get priority). 
                        -Declare Attackers Step. Once you declare no attackers, both players get priority. Once this step ends, the game skips the Declare Blockers and Combat Damage steps, and goes straight to the: -End of Combat step (both players get priority). 
                          --- 
                        
                          Q: My opponent have a 
                          untapped Pristine Angel in play. I cast Wave of 
                          Reckoning. Does the Pristine Angel go to the grave due 
                          to the damage? Or does the protection from all color 
                          prevents all damage? 
                        
                          -Kotaro K. 
                        
                          A: This was actually 
                          answered in the Odyssey FAQ (since the first creature 
                          with protection from all colors, Iridescent Angel, was 
                          introduced there): 
                        
                          "Protection from all 
                          colors: This grants a creature five different 
                          protection abilities. These are protection from white, 
                          from blue, from black, from red, and from green." 
                        
                          Since Pristine Angel has 
                          protection from all colors, it has protection from 
                          white. Thus, the damage is prevented. 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          Q: If my opponent has a 
                          2/2 creature, and a 1/1 creature, and I have a 
                          Fireball and 5 lands (one of them red), if I tap all 
                          my lands, would I be able to kill them both given that 
                          you have to pay (1) for the target beyond the first, 
                          rounded even? 
                         
                        
                          -Mad Dog 
                        
                          A: No. Let's go through 
                          the spell: 
                        
                          It costs {R} to start, 
                          leaving you 4 mana. 
                        It costs {1} for the second target, leaving you 3 mana, which is the value for X. 3, divided by 2, is 1.5. 1.5, rounded down, is 1. 
                          So each creature will take 
                          one damage. Thus, the 2/2 will live. 
                        
                          You will need 6 mana to 
                          kill both of the creatures (to do 2 damage to each). 
                        
                          --- 
                        
                          Q: I know that you can 
                          have as many lands as you want, but “Cloudpost” 
                          doesn’t seem like a regular land. And I wanted to know 
                          exactly how many I can have in my deck? 
                        
                          -Vitaly P. 
                        
                          A: Here is the deck 
                          construction rule: 
                        
                          100.2 ... A constructed 
                          deck can have any number of basic land cards and no 
                          more than four of any card with a particular English 
                          name other than basic land cards. 
                        
                          A "basic land card" is a 
                          land with the supertype basic. Since Cloudpost does 
                          not have the supertype basic, you are limited to 4 
                          Cloudposts in your deck. 
                        
                          See you Friday. 
                        
                          Bill Guerin 
						DCI Level 2 Judge 
 
							Bill Guerin 
                        
					DCI Level 2 Judge  | 
				|||||||||
Copyright 2001 Pojo.com
Magic the
        Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
        This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an
        Official Site.