Judge Bill


Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Affinity for Soul Foundry

Q: If I imprint a Myr Enforcer on a Soul Foundry, how much do I have to pay to make a Myr Enforcer token?

-Brian E. / Linda K.

A: NOTHING changes the converted mana cost of a card. NOTHING.

Affinity changes how much you pay to play the Myr Enforcer - not what its converted mana cost is. The converted mana cost of a Myr Enforcer is always {7}, so it will always cost 7 mana to make a Myr Enforcer token.

---

Q: Which of these two scenarios is correct?

a) Player A controls a Master Decoy and has an untapped plains. Player B controls a Woebearer, a Hollow Specter equipped with a Sword of Light and Shadow and has three lands untapped. Player B passes priority to player A during his first main phase, declaring he is ready to attack. Player A responds by tapping the Hollow Specter equipped with the Sword of Light and Shadow via the Master Decoy, using his plains to do so. He then passes priority back to Player B. Player B then taps his lands to re-equip the Sword onto his Woebearer, again passing priority to player A, declaring he is once again ready to attack. Player A passes initiative back to Player B, as he is unable to do anything, and Player B continues the attack with the Sword-equipped Woebearer being the only attacker.

b) Player A controls a Master Decoy and has an untapped plains. Player B controls a Woebearer, a Hollow Specter equipped with a Sword of Light and Shadow and has three lands untapped. Player B passes priority to player A during his first main phase, declaring he is ready to attack. Player A responds by tapping the Hollow Specter equipped with the Sword of Light and Shadow via the Master Decoy, using his plains to do so. Player B is then unable to re-equip the Sword of Light and Shadow onto the Woebearer as he has already entered his attack phase, and is unable to equip the sword as a sorcery at this time.

-rbebb

A: The correct answer is unknown. It would take some investigation as to where Player A "responded" with the Master Decoy ability. There are two sets of passes of priority between Player B having priority in his first main phase and being able to attack.

Player A could have played the ability in either Player B's first main phase or Player B's beginning of attack step.

Once again (and this is the LAST TIME I will deal with this type of question, at least for a long while), BE SPECIFIC ON WHEN YOU ARE PLAYING ABILITIES.

---

Q: I am confused on combat phases. If I declare attackers and he starts to declare blockers, can I destroy a blocker as he declares it so it doesn't go on the stack (it doesn't get to block)? Does he have to say "it's on the stack"? I am having a lot of problems with the phases and priority.

-Larson

A: From the Rulebook:

309.1. As the declare blockers step begins, the defending player declares blockers (this game action doesn’t use the stack).

So once a player starts declaring blockers, no player may play spells or abilities until a legal set of blockers has been declared.

---

Q: I have an Arcbound Crusher with four +1/+1 counters on it and a Whispersilk cloak equipped to it. My opponent has 7 life. Can I play three artifacts to put three +1/+1 counters on the Crusher and kill my opponent?

-Tyler Z.

A: Yes. See Mantra 3.

---

Q: I have a Masticore in play, a Squee, Goblin Nabob in my graveyard and no cards in my hand. Can I return the Squee to my hand to discard the Squee for the Masticore at the beginning of my upkeep?

-Rigo

A: Yes.

---

Q: If there is Isochron Scepter with Fire/Ice imprinted on it, and I play Meddling Mage, can I name "Fire/Ice" card or only Fire or Ice. Can the opponent play Scepter's ability then?

-monet

A: With Meddling Mage, you must always name the full name of a card. This would mean you would name "Fire/Ice" to prevent your opponent from playing Fire/Ice cards, which would prevent him from playing either side.

However, The copy created by Isochron Scepter is NOT A CARD. This means no matter what you name for Meddling Mage, the Mage will not stop you from playing the Isochron Scepter copies.

---

Q: How do multiple Serum Powders in your opening hand interact? I assume that you can only use one of the Serum Powders since removing your hand from the game is essentially a cost of using the ability (which I assume is a triggered ability). If this is correct, the second (or third or fourth) Serum Powder is gone before you can activate its ability. What's your take?

-Cory H.

A: Serum Powder's mulligan ability reads thusly:

Any time you could mulligan and Serum Powder is in your hand, you may remove your hand from the game, then draw that many cards. (You can do this in addition to taking mulligans.)

Once you use the ability of one of the Serum Powders, removing your hand from the game, the other Serum Powders are no longer in your hand. So you will only be able to use one of the Serum Powders' abilities, no matter how many you have in a hand.

So you have assumed correctly, for the most part. (Serum Powder's ability is not a triggered ability - it does not start with when, whenever, or at. It is a replacement ability.

If Serum Powder's ability were a triggered ability, it would never work correctly, because you can only play triggered abilities after the game has started.)

---

Q: If I use a Neurok Transmuter to change a creature into a artifact and then I use Memnarch's ability to gain control of the artifact, do I lose control of the creature when at the end of turn when it loses the artifact type?

-Legend

A: All that matters is that the artifact is an artifact when Memnarch's ability resolves. After that, you will retain control of it no matter what type of card it is.

---

Q: If my opponent casts Death Cloud and I have Sacred Ground in play, do I return my lands to play since his effect forced me to sac them?

A: Yes.

---

Q: Does Death Cloud resolve as one spell, or as one spell with four effects on the stack? Loss of life, cards, creatures, and lands?

-Paul

A: Death Cloud is one spell and resolves as such. The effects are carries out in order though - first you lose life, then sacrifice the lands, then sacrifice creatures, then sacrifices artifacts. This means that Disciple of the Vault will not trigger for any artifacts sacrificed in the artifacts portion if it is sacrificed in the creatures portion, as it is not in play when the artifacts are sacrificed.

---

Q: I control a Ravenous Baloth and an Aether Charge. My opponent has two creatures in play. If I cast Pulse of the Tangle, can I sacrifice the Beast token for four life, trigger Aether Charge for four damage, and bounce the Pulse to my hand or is there no time to resolve the sacrifice?

A: Again, this is another replacement ability that replaces what happens when the spell resolves. You are in the middle of resolving something, so see Mantra 1.

---

Q: If you Skullclamp a Wirewood Herald, do you search first for the Elf then draw cards, do you draw cards then search for the Elf, or can you choose the way they resolve?

A: They are both triggered abilities that trigger at the same time, so you choose the order.

---

Q: Since mana empties at end of phases, if someone uses Mana Echoes to provide a lot of mana for Warbreak Trumpeteer's morph, which in turn provides mana for a Goblin Offensive, they can't use the mana to play Enrage for 70 something during the combat phase, right?

A: No, but they could play the Enrage in the main phase. (I know, that doesn't help much if they have a blocker.)

---

Q: Does damage stay on a creature until end of turn?

A: Or until it regenerates, yes.

---

Q: If I have a 3/3 Heedless One, and my opponent Shocks it, can he kill any of my Elves (not Heedless One) to kill Heedless One (reducing its power and toughness)?

A: Yes.

---

Q: If I have a Elvish Vanguard in play, and I cast an Elf, can an opponent use Imagecrafter to turn it into a non-Elf creature so that I can't get a counter on it?

A: No. By the time he can play Imagecrafter's ability on the creature, it has already triggered the Vanguard.

---

Q: Forgotten Ancient's ability triggers for any spell (regardless whether it is countered), right?

-Ray C.

A: Correct.

---

Q: One of my friends claims that you must remove a dragon that you have searched for with Zirilan of the Claw after the turn in which you put it out is over. Is this true?

A: If the dragon that you searched for has been in play from the time is was put into play by Zirilan until the time the "end of turn" delayed triggered ability resolves, then you must remove that dragon from the game at that time.

If it has left play before that (even if it is put back into play before the triggered ability resolves), or if it is not in play when the trigger resolves, then it will not be removed from the game.

---

Q: Can Beloved Chaplain block creatures?

-Jake V.

A: Yes. Protection only prevents a creature from blocking the attacker with protection. If a creature with protection is (legally) assigned as a blocker, that's fine.

See you Tuesday.

Bill Guerin

DCI Level 2 Judge

 

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.