Judge Bill


Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Column 100000000

8.27.04 
Questions: 7
 
Yes, I really have written 100000000 columns. [(Well, as long as you know 100000000 is in binary ;)]
 
To start off, I'll kill 2 questions with one answer ...
 
Q: When I attack my opponent with a 0/3 Abyssal Specter, does my opponent discard a card?
 
-Raul F.
 
Q: Is it possible to deal 0 damage to someone? Like attacking with a Taunting Elf...
 
-Omar S.
 
A: 419.5a If a source would deal 0 damage, it does not deal damage at all. That means abilities that trigger on damage being dealt won’t trigger. It also means that replacement effects that increase damage dealt have no event to replace when 0 damage is dealt, so they have no effect.
 
So your opponent will not discard a card.
 
---
 
Q: Do you have to keep your hand in the same order at all times?
 
A: No.
 
---
 
Q: What is the correct way of picking a card at random?
 
-Joann
 
A: Any way that results in a random selection is fine. The most frequent method is to shuffle your hand, place the card face down on the table, and have your opponent pick one. Another acceptable alternative is to roll a die with at least as many sides as the number of cards. Assign each card one number, and roll the die. Pick that card. If you roll a number not assigned to a card, roll again.
 
---
 
Q: Assume player A and player B are both playing Affinity Decks. Player A has 2 life points to Player B's 4, and it is player A's turn. If Player A casts Shrapnel Blast, targeting Player B, who has two Disciples of the Vault in play, which player would die first and why?
 
-DM
 
A: Player A would lose. His Shrapnel Blast goes on the stack, and then the triggers from the two Disciples go on the stack. The triggers will resolve first, since they went on the stack last.
 
---
 
Q: How can you declare a spell before you pay the mana cost?
 
A: Because that's the way the rules have you do it. Announce spell, choose modes and targets, play mana abilities, pay costs.
 
---
 
Q: When you told me that I could declare my Tendrils of Agony before I tapped 2 City of Brass when I was at 2, it didn't make sense though?
 
-Omar S.
 
A: Sure, you can do that. The Cities of Brass will trigger while you play the spell, but since you are playing a spell, the triggers wait until you are done before going on the stack on top of the spell. Thus, the City of Brass triggers will go on top of the Tendrils, and the triggers will resolve first, putting you to 0 life before the Tendrils resolve, resulting in a dead player.
 
(Of course, if a spell has been played this turn BEFORE the Tendrils, you can stack it so you can live. When you tap the Cities for mana, you also have a Storm trigger to deal with. Put the Cities' triggers on the stack first, then the Storm trigger. The Storm trigger will resolve first, putting the copy [or copies] of Tendrils on top of the City triggers. Thus, the copy [or copies] will resolve before the City triggers, letting you live.)
 
See you Tuesday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.