Judge Bill


Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers  
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage
Jason's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

Rules of Banding

 
Short answer:
 
"Artifact" has never been, and still isn't, a creature type.
 
---
 
Q: What are the rules on banding?
 
A: Banding is described in section 502.10 of the Comprehensive Rules (http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/oracle).
 
Basically, banding has 2 aspects to it:
 
(a) Modifies declaring attackers. You can put any number of creatures with banding and up to one creature without banding into a "band," meaning they attack as a group. If a creature blocks any member of the band, though, the entire group is blocked. (Blocking creatures still block a specific member of the group, not the whole group.)
 
(b) Modifies how damage is assigned. If one member of an attacking or blocking group has banding, then the controller of the group decides how damage is dealt to that group (not the opponent).
 
---
 
Q: Also what's the difference between banding and bands with XXX?
 
-Tyler P.
 
A: The only thing is what the creature is allowed to band with. Otherwise, it works exactly the same way as normal banding.
 
---
 
Q: Chrome Mox says that I MAY discard a nonland, nonartifact card,  which then becomes imprinted, and the Mox produced the imprinted card's mana colors. Can I choose not to discard a card, and have the Mox produce colorless mana instead of colored?
 
A: No. Colorless is not a color. If no card is imprinted on Chrome Mox, then no mana will be produced when it is tapped for mana.
 
---
 
Q: I played Decimate on an opponent's land and artifact, but he had no creatures or enchantments. I had land, artifacts and a creature in play. My friend told me that because my opponent had no legal targets for the creature destruction, that I had to destroy my own. The destroy enchantment obviously had no legal targets so was ignored....
 
-Milhous
 
A: You can't even play Decimate in this situation. You must be able to target a land, an enchantment, an artifact, and a creature to be able to play Decimate. If one of those types of cards isn't there, then you can't play it.
 
---
 
Q: If I use Mind Bend on Door To Nothingness, can I make it so I could pay 10 of any one color?
 
-Joann
 
A: No. Mana symbols are not color words or land types. If you play Mind Bend on Door to Nothingess, it will have no noticable effect, since Door to Nothingess has no color words or land types on it.
 
---
 
Q: Can the activated abilities of artifacts be played the turn they are played (i.e. Can Conjuror's Bauble be tapped and sacrificed the turn you play it?)
 
A: Yes, if they are not creatures. Only creatures are affected by summoning sickness.
 
---
 
Q: Can Loxodon Achorite block a 4/1 creature, then tap to prevent the next two damage to itself and not get destroyed by the 4/1?
 
-msun
 
A: Yes.
 
---
 
Q: If I Control Magic one of my opponent's creatures and then sac the creature to Altar of Dementia, can I Boomerang the Control Magic back to my hand?
 
A: No. Once the creature is gone, Control Magic is immediately placed into its owner's graveyard (as a state-based effect). Even if you play Boomerang before saccing it, you can't get the Control Magic back.
 
---
 
Q: If I block a Darksteel Collosus with a Dawn Elemental, do I still take trample?
 
-Omar S.
 
A: If your opponent assigns trample damage to you, yes. See Mantra 5.
 
---
 
Q: what happens if an Obliterate is played and some one Last Words it?
 
-Jonathon
 
A: Obliterate looks at Last Word, sticks its tongue out, and blows up the world anyway.
 
Last Word resolves just fine. It attempts to counter Obliterate, is prevented from doing so, and goes to the graveyard. Last Word is NOT countered - it has resolved.
 
---
 
Q: Player A plays a Goblin Striker.
Player B plays Vex on the Goblin Striker.
Player A plays Last Word on the Vex.
Player B plays Mana Leak on Goblin Striker.
 
Is that a legal play?
 
-Mail
 
A: Yes.
 
---
 
Q: If I have a Birchlore Rangers into play, can I tap itself for its effect?
 
A: Yes, assuming its creature type has not been changed. Birchlore Rangers IS an elf, after all.
 
---
 
Q: Does the mana Birchlore Rangers creates stay in play?
 
-jloc
 
A: No. If you do not use the mana generated by Birchlore Rangers by the end of the current phase, you will take mana burn.
 
---
 
Q: To what degree does Blood Moon affect artifact lands? I know that the lands will only tap to add red mana, but do the lands still count as artifacts, for affinity count?
 
-Ewan R.
 
A: It is still an artifact, and it is NOT a basic land. Blood Moon (and other cards that change land types) do two things: removes all rules text (so it can't tap for what it tapped for before) and makes the land subtype of the card in question to be the subtype in question.
 
---
 
Q: Does Steal Enchantment give you control of a creature if you take an enchantment on a creature?
 
-Joseph T.
 
A: No. Cards do EXACTLY what they say they do, and no more. Steal Enchantment only gives you control of an enchantment. If that enchantment is attached to a creature, great, you get control of it. You do not, however, take the creature. You also can not move the enchantment. It stays right where it is.
 
---
 
Q: I sac 10 artifacts to my Arcbound Ravager with 2 Disciples of the Vault in play...
 
A: Fine. Each Disciple triggers 10 times, and we have 20 "you may have target opponent lose one life" effects on the stack.
 
---
 
Q: then my opponent in response plays Wail of the Nim so that the Disciples will die before the Disciple’s ability can resolve.
 
A: Um, OK.
 
---
 
Q: Is the Disciple's ability still on the stack & triggered by the saccing of the artifacts, although the Disciple's ability would resolved after its demise?
 
A: Yes. (You correctly quoted Mantra 8 in this instance. Mantra 8 is derived from the following rule:
 
402.6. Once activated or triggered, an ability exists independently of its source as an ability on the stack. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability. Note that some abilities cause a source to do something (for example, “Prodigal Sorcerer deals 1 damage to target creature or player”) rather than the ability doing anything directly. In these cases, any activated or triggered ability that references information about the source will check that information when the ability resolves, or will use the source’s last known information if it’s no longer in play.)
 
The only way to remove an ability from the stack is with a card like Stifle.
 
(402.6 would probably be your strongest case with your friends. Also, consider this often used example:
 
You are in a war. You see an ememy soldier take the pin out of a grenade, and lob it at you. Before the grenade arrives, you shoot him. What happens with the grenade?)
 
---
 
Q: Do enchantments, artifacts, and creatures go to the graveyard in the order that they are destroyed by spells on the stack?
 
A: This question is a little too vague to answer given just this information. Let me go through 2 examples, and and hopefully I'll answer your question.
 
a) Akroma's Vengeance
{4}{W}{W}
Sorcery
Destroy all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments.
Cycling {3} ({3}, Discard this card from your hand: Draw a card.)
 
With Akroma's Vengeance, all of the permanents go to the graveyard at the same time. The owner of the cards going to his or her graveyard will choose the order they are in in the graveyard. (217.4c)
 
b) Death Cloud
{X}{B}{B}{B}
Sorcery
Each player loses X life, then discards X cards from his or her hand, then sacrifices X creatures, then sacrifices X lands.
 
Death Cloud uses the word "then," so there is an ordering to the effect. First, you will lose the X life. Then, you will discard X cards from your hand (putting them in your graveyard in the order of your choice). Then, you will sacrifice X creatures (putting them in your graveyard in the order of your choice, but above all of the cards you discarded). Then, you will sacrifice X lands (putting them in your graveyard in the order of your choice, but above all of the creatures you sacrificed).
 
(Feel free to write back with a more specific question if that doesn't help.)
 
---
 
Q: I pay 5 and tap my Oblivion Stone, then in response my opponent plays Shatter to destroy the Oblivion Stone. Does the oblivion Stone's ability still resolve with the bored being cleared of all non-land permanents even though the Oblivion Stone is destroyed?
 
-Moog O.
 
Q: Yes.
 
See you Friday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 JudgeTitle: Rules of Banding
Questions: 17
 
---
 
Short answer:
 
"Artifact" has never been, and still isn't, a creature type.
 
---
 
Q: What are the rules on banding?
 
A: Banding is described in section 502.10 of the Comprehensive Rules (http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=dci/oracle).
 
Basically, banding has 2 aspects to it:
 
(a) Modifies declaring attackers. You can put any number of creatures with banding and up to one creature without banding into a "band," meaning they attack as a group. If a creature blocks any member of the band, though, the entire group is blocked. (Blocking creatures still block a specific member of the group, not the whole group.)
 
(b) Modifies how damage is assigned. If one member of an attacking or blocking group has banding, then the controller of the group decides how damage is dealt to that group (not the opponent).
 
---
 
Q: Also what's the difference between banding and bands with XXX?
 
-Tyler P.
 
A: The only thing is what the creature is allowed to band with. Otherwise, it works exactly the same way as normal banding.
 
---
 
Q: Chrome Mox says that I MAY discard a nonland, nonartifact card,  which then becomes imprinted, and the Mox produced the imprinted card's mana colors. Can I choose not to discard a card, and have the Mox produce colorless mana instead of colored?
 
A: No. Colorless is not a color. If no card is imprinted on Chrome Mox, then no mana will be produced when it is tapped for mana.
 
---
 
Q: I played Decimate on an opponent's land and artifact, but he had no creatures or enchantments. I had land, artifacts and a creature in play. My friend told me that because my opponent had no legal targets for the creature destruction, that I had to destroy my own. The destroy enchantment obviously had no legal targets so was ignored....
 
-Milhous
 
A: You can't even play Decimate in this situation. You must be able to target a land, an enchantment, an artifact, and a creature to be able to play Decimate. If one of those types of cards isn't there, then you can't play it.
 
---
 
Q: If I use Mind Bend on Door To Nothingness, can I make it so I could pay 10 of any one color?
 
-Joann
 
A: No. Mana symbols are not color words or land types. If you play Mind Bend on Door to Nothingness, it will have no noticeable effect, since Door to Nothingness has no color words or land types on it.
 
---
 
Q: Can the activated abilities of artifacts be played the turn they are played (i.e. Can Conjuror's Bauble be tapped and sacrificed the turn you play it?)
 
A: Yes, if they are not creatures. Only creatures are affected by summoning sickness.
 
---
 
Q: Can Loxodon Anchorite block a 4/1 creature, then tap to prevent the next two damage to itself and not get destroyed by the 4/1?
 
-msun
 
A: Yes.
 
---
 
Q: If I Control Magic one of my opponent's creatures and then sac the creature to Altar of Dementia, can I Boomerang the Control Magic back to my hand?
 
A: No. Once the creature is gone, Control Magic is immediately placed into its owner's graveyard (as a state-based effect). Even if you play Boomerang before saccing it, you can't get the Control Magic back.
 
---
 
Q: If I block a Darksteel Colossus with a Dawn Elemental, do I still take trample?
 
-Omar S.
 
A: If your opponent assigns trample damage to you, yes. See Mantra 5.
 
---
 
Q: what happens if an Obliterate is played and some one Last Words it?
 
-Jonathon
 
A: Obliterate looks at Last Word, sticks its tongue out, and blows up the world anyway.
 
Last Word resolves just fine. It attempts to counter Obliterate, is prevented from doing so, and goes to the graveyard. Last Word is NOT countered - it has resolved.
 
---
 
Q: Player A plays a Goblin Striker.
Player B plays Vex on the Goblin Striker.
Player A plays Last Word on the Vex.
Player B plays Mana Leak on Goblin Striker.
 
Is that a legal play?
 
-Mail
 
A: Yes.
 
---
 
Q: If I have a Birchlore Rangers into play, can I tap itself for its effect?
 
A: Yes, assuming its creature type has not been changed. Birchlore Rangers IS an elf, after all.
 
---
 
Q: Does the mana Birchlore Rangers creates stay in play?
 
-jloc
 
A: No. If you do not use the mana generated by Birchlore Rangers by the end of the current phase, you will take mana burn.
 
---
 
Q: To what degree does Blood Moon affect artifact lands? I know that the lands will only tap to add red mana, but do the lands still count as artifacts, for affinity count?
 
-Ewan R.
 
A: It is still an artifact, and it is NOT a basic land. Blood Moon (and other cards that change land types) do two things: removes all rules text (so it can't tap for what it tapped for before) and makes the land subtype of the card in question to be the subtype in question.
 
---
 
Q: Does Steal Enchantment give you control of a creature if you take an enchantment on a creature?
 
-Joseph T.
 
A: No. Cards do EXACTLY what they say they do, and no more. Steal Enchantment only gives you control of an enchantment. If that enchantment is attached to a creature, great, you get control of it. You do not, however, take the creature. You also can not move the enchantment. It stays right where it is.
 
---
 
Q: I sac 10 artifacts to my Arcbound Ravager with 2 Disciples of the Vault in play...
 
A: Fine. Each Disciple triggers 10 times, and we have 20 "you may have target opponent lose one life" effects on the stack.
 
---
 
Q: then my opponent in response plays Wail of the Nim so that the Disciples will die before the Disciple’s ability can resolve.
 
A: Um, OK.
 
---
 
Q: Is the Disciple's ability still on the stack & triggered by the saccing of the artifacts, although the Disciple's ability would resolved after its demise?
 
A: Yes. (You correctly quoted Mantra 8 in this instance. Mantra 8 is derived from the following rule:
 
402.6. Once activated or triggered, an ability exists independently of its source as an ability on the stack. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability. Note that some abilities cause a source to do something (for example, “Prodigal Sorcerer deals 1 damage to target creature or player”) rather than the ability doing anything directly. In these cases, any activated or triggered ability that references information about the source will check that information when the ability resolves, or will use the source’s last known information if it’s no longer in play.)
 
The only way to remove an ability from the stack is with a card like Stifle.
 
(402.6 would probably be your strongest case with your friends. Also, consider this often used example:
 
You are in a war. You see an enemy soldier take the pin out of a grenade, and lob it at you. Before the grenade arrives, you shoot him. What happens with the grenade?)
 
---
 
Q: Do enchantments, artifacts, and creatures go to the graveyard in the order that they are destroyed by spells on the stack?
 
A: This question is a little too vague to answer given just this information. Let me go through 2 examples, and hopefully I'll answer your question.
 
a) Akroma's Vengeance
{4}{W}{W}
Sorcery
Destroy all artifacts, creatures, and enchantments.
Cycling {3} ({3}, Discard this card from your hand: Draw a card.)
 
With Akroma's Vengeance, all of the permanents go to the graveyard at the same time. The owner of the cards going to his or her graveyard will choose the order they are in in the graveyard. (217.4c)
 
b) Death Cloud
{X}{B}{B}{B}
Sorcery
Each player loses X life, then discards X cards from his or her hand, then sacrifices X creatures, then sacrifices X lands.
 
Death Cloud uses the word "then," so there is an ordering to the effect. First, you will lose the X life. Then, you will discard X cards from your hand (putting them in your graveyard in the order of your choice). Then, you will sacrifice X creatures (putting them in your graveyard in the order of your choice, but above all of the cards you discarded). Then, you will sacrifice X lands (putting them in your graveyard in the order of your choice, but above all of the creatures you sacrificed).
 
(Feel free to write back with a more specific question if that doesn't help.)
 
---
 
Q: I pay 5 and tap my Oblivion Stone, then in response my opponent plays Shatter to destroy the Oblivion Stone. Does the oblivion Stone's ability still resolve with the bored being cleared of all non-land permanents even though the Oblivion Stone is destroyed?
 
-Moog O.
 
Q: Yes.
 
See you Friday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

 

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 2001 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.