|  |  |  |  |  |  | 
|  |  |  | |||
| Pojo's Magic The Gathering news, tips, strategies and more! | |||||
|  | |||||
|  | |||||
|  | |||||
|  
					 
 
						
 Pojo's MTG |  | Judge Bill's Magic The Gathering Rulings 
						Title: Rant Mode ON! Questions: 31 4.06.05 
							--- 
							My apologies for 
							the long delay on this column.  
							First, an error 
							to correct. I failed to properly apply 418.5a in the 
							following question, and our friend Chris Richter 
							writes in to correct me: 
							--- 
							In your most 
							recent column dated 3/21/05 you wrote: 
							> Q: My opponent 
							has a 2/2 creature enchanted with Empyrial Armor and 
							he  > has 2 cards in his hand. I play Blood Lust on that creature, dropping > it's defense down to 1, and then attempt to kill it by putting a -1/-1 > counter (from my Serrated Arrow) on it. Does it die? > > -Ling T. > > A: Yes, it dies. Empyrial Armor's bonus is calculated once, and > effects that change the statistics do not make the Armor recheck. 
							This situation is 
							complex for two reasons; 1) you have three different 
							effects that change the power and toughness of a 
							creature in play, and one of these effect is due to 
							a counter.  And 2) it involves Blood Lust. 
							The first issue 
							is that when calculating the power and toughness of 
							a creature you apply the effects from counters first 
							and then apply other continuous effects.  This means 
							that you apply the -1/-1 from the Serrated Arrows 
							counter first, before you apply the effects from the 
							Empyrial Armor and Blood Lust.  This, in and or 
							itself, is not a problem. 
							The second issue 
							is that while the effect from Blood Lust is 
							continually recalculated whenever it is applied.  
							The entire effect is that the targeted creature et 
							+4/-4, and that it's toughness is not lowered below 
							zero.  This means that because the effect from Blood 
							Lust is applied last, this effect can not lower the 
							toughness of this creature to anything below zero. 
							So basically you 
							start with a 2/2 creature, subtract -1/-1 due to the 
							Serrated Arrow counter to make it a 1/1, apply the 
							effect from the Empyrial Armor and make it a 3/3.  
							Then finally when you apply Blood Lust it will 
							become a 7/1, as the effect from Blood Lust can not 
							lower the toughness of this creature to less than 
							one. 
							However keep in 
							mind that you can cause this creature to go to the 
							graveyard if you use a non-counter way to lower it's 
							toughness to zero.   Then this last effect will be 
							applied after the Blood Lust. 
							-Chris 
							--- 
							Moving on ... 
							Q: I just wanted 
							to know how many Book Burnings are you allowed to 
							have in you deck? 
							A: To get the 
							answer out of the way, Book Burning is not 
							restricted in any format, so you can play 4 in your 
							deck. 
							(Calms himself 
							down, remembering this is a family site ...) 
							I don't have an 
							issue with the writer here. Who I do have an issue 
							with in this question are the people he plays, 
							namely the anal retentive people that play in the 
							casual room in Magic Online. The majority of the 
							people that inhabit the casual room on Magic Online 
							think that they are God. They think that you will be 
							able to tell what they want you to play, without 
							giving any indication what they want you to not 
							play. 
							Then, when you 
							play a card that THEY consider unacceptable, they 
							act like YOU'RE the one who has done something 
							wrong. 
							They, friends, 
							are full of it. 
							I don't mind if 
							the idiots that play in that room don't want to play 
							against a card or class of cards. That's not my 
							gripe. 
							What my gripe is, 
							is that they expect you to know what cards they 
							don't want you to play against without telling you. 
							This is why they are a bunch of morons, who need to 
							learn courtesy for other people. 
							Yes, they can 
							enjoy their time on the game. But they need to pull 
							their heads out of their rears and realize there is 
							someone else on the other side of the screen. 
							If you don't want 
							to play against a card or a class of cards, then 
							TELL US before we join your game. I'd be perfectly 
							happy if you advertised "Extended, no counters or 
							Land Destruction" or "Standard, no Eager Cadets." 
							Fine. Play against someone who wants to play by your 
							rules. If my deck plays by your rules, I might even 
							sit down and play you. 
							But to expect us 
							to know what and how you want to play in your games 
							without telling us is the sign of a self centered, 
							immature brat. 
							And yes, you can 
							still be a brat if you're 30+. Just ask Phil 
							Hellmuth. 
							--- 
							(Tries to calm 
							himself back down to continue with the column...) 
							--- 
							Q: On Detonate, 
							does artifact mean an artifact creature? 
							-Scott M. 
							A: Artifact means 
							a card with they type artifact. Since artifact 
							creatures have both type artifact and type creature, 
							you can use Detonate to destroy them. The artifact 
							doesn't have to be a creature to be able to be 
							destroyed by Detonate. 
							--- 
							Q: I recently 
							bought a Champions of Kamigawa, Spirit Bane deck. I 
							rushed to open it. As I looked through it I stumbled 
							upon a blank card. What is the deal with that? 
							A: The 
							preconstructed decks are made on printing sheets. 
							The size of the sheet necessitates printing a blank 
							card in some of the spaces. Most of the time, it is 
							just thrown away at the factory. Sometimes, though, 
							it makes its way to you. 
							--- 
							Q: Also can I 
							make the blank card into a custom one? 
							-monkeyman 
							A: No. Your best 
							bet is to just sell it off on ebay. 
							--- 
							Q: Do creatures 
							tap when they block? 
							-Jo Mon 
							A: No. 
							--- 
							Q: Do Revised 
							edition Mons's Goblin Raiders count as a goblin? 
							Someone argued it is "summon goblins" and not 
							"summon goblin" so it doesn't count as a goblin. 
							A: Yes, it is a 
							goblin. Making a creature type plural does not make 
							it a different creature type. So "goblin" and 
							"goblins" are the same creature type. 
							--- Q: Would zombie master count as a zombie although it says summon lord? It has zombie in it's name! Couldn't it be a zombie? 
							-Nerd333 
							A: Sorry, Zombie 
							Lord is a Lord, and not a Zombie. It would be a 
							zombie if it had the creature type zombie, but it 
							doesn't. 
							--- 
							Q: If I use 
							Confiscate on a creature that has a sacrifice 
							ability, can that player use sacrifice as part of 
							stack and make me waste my enchant or is the 
							creature mine as soon as I cast? 
							-Mark F. 
							A: Yes, he can 
							respond and make you waste your enchantment. You can 
							always respond to an enchantment spell. 
							--- 
							Q: With Words of 
							War in play if I return Attunement and pay 3 mana 
							for the Words of War's ability, do I still have to 
							discard the four or does this no longer apply since 
							I replaced the first part of the spell? -brandon 
							A: You only 
							replaced the card draw - you did not replace the 
							entire spell. So you will still have to discard 4 
							cards (or your whole hand, if it is less than 4 
							cards.) 
							(Attunement is in 
							your hand when you have to discard.) 
							--- 
							Q: If Pristine 
							Angel is tapped and you enchant it while it is 
							tapped does the enchantment stay on it once it 
							becomes untapped? 
							-nitsud 
							A: No. Protection 
							makes it fall off. 
							--- 
							Q: I have Lethal 
							Vapors and a Carrion Feeder in play. If I cast a 
							creature spell, can I sacrifice it to my Carrion 
							Feeder before Lethal Vapors resolves? -Mark 
							A: Yes. Lethal 
							Vapors's triggered ability uses the stack, and can 
							be responded to in this way before it resolves. 
							--- 
							Q: If you have 
							banding and have assigned two banded creatures to 
							attack another player, can the other player use a 
							destruction spell to choose one of the creatures in 
							the band and destroy it on its own?  
							A: Yes. Only 
							damage is shared in a band. 
							--- 
							Q: Also, does 
							this mean the damage from the destroyed creature in 
							the band is not dealt to the other player? 
							-Jennifer S. 
							A: Correct. 
							--- 
							Q: My opponent 
							played a Taunting Elf and a creature enchanted with 
							Lure.  What would happen if both creatures attacked 
							at the same time?  Would they both cancel blocking 
							attempts because of illegal blocking and break the 
							game or would nothing happen? -Josh F. 
							A: For each 
							creature that he had available to block, he could 
							choose which creature that creature blocks. 
							--- 
							Q: My friend 
							attacked me with Grotesque Hybrid. She discarded to 
							make it protection from white and green.  I use 
							Opal-Eye, Konda's Yojimbo ability to redirect the 
							damage to itself. My question is does my Opal-Eye 
							die because of Grotesque ability even through the 
							damage is redirect from me? 
							-EC 
							A: Yes. It is 
							still damage from the Hybrid, and will kill the 
							Opal-Eye (if you don't prevent the damage using her 
							other ability). 
							--- 
							Q: Can I enchant 
							a wall with flying? 
							A: Yes. 
							--- 
							Q: Can I use 
							Phantom Wings to enchant Steel Wall? 
							-Jason R. 
							A: Yes. 
							--- 
							Q: If I have an 
							Endless Whispers out during a multiplayer game, I 
							also have a Phage the Untouchable out.  I sacrifice 
							Phage and, at the end of the turn, it goes into play 
							under target opponent's control, he/she didn't play 
							it from their hand so they lose the game, but in a 
							multiplayer game what happens, does Phage go to my 
							graveyard after someone loses, in which I choose 
							another player to lose, or does the person that lost 
							get to choose? 
							-Justin St.John 
							A: This is a 
							question about a multiplayer game, so there is no 
							official answer to this. 
							My answer: When 
							the other player leaves the game, Phage is placed 
							into the graveyard, and triggers. However, the 
							triggered ability has no controller (since the 
							person who controlled Phage left the game). So the 
							triggered ability is unable to be played, and is 
							simply removed from the game rather than going on 
							the stack. 
							End result: Phage 
							stays in your graveyard. 
							Once again, this 
							is a multiplayer question, so you are free to make 
							your own ruling with your playgroup. That's just how 
							I would handle it. 
							--- 
							Q: I make a 
							token. What if you want to tap the creature for just 
							its tap right then? I know it has summoning sickness 
							for attacking but can I play Kyren Negotiations' 
							effect ? -mike 
							A: Sure. The 
							ability isn't on the creature, so you can tap it 
							just fine to pay the cost of another card. 
							--- 
							Q: If my opponent 
							removes my Viashino Sandstalker from the game until 
							end of turn with Otherworldly Journey, what happens 
							when he comes back into play, does he come back into 
							my hand or is it too late for his trigger to resolve 
							and he stays in play with a +1/+1 counter until the 
							end of my next turn.  I am leaning towards the 
							latter but I'm not sure. 
							-Robert H. 
							A: You are 
							correct - it stays in play until the next end step 
							(in the next turn). 
							--- 
							Q: I have a Genju 
							of the Fens and I was wondering - does the ability 
							count only once or can I tap as many black mana as I 
							wish to get it more power. 
							-Clinton A. 
							A: See
							
							Mantra 11, last sentence.  
							--- 
							Q: I read the 
							official card ruling on Riptide Mangler, but was 
							still unclear on whether my question was answered so 
							I figured I'd bother you so that you could explain 
							it to me like I was four years old.  Maybe that way 
							I would understand.  If I had a Riptide Mangler in 
							play (0/3), and use its ability to take on the power 
							of a creature with a power of 3, it becomes a 3/2.  
							So far, so good.  If I play Serra's Embrace on it 
							(+2/+2 etc.), it is now a 5/4 flier.  I'm still 
							following.  My question is: Can I now use its 
							ability again, targeting itself to make its base 
							power 5?  If so, wouldn't the Serra's Embrace then 
							make it a 7/4? And couldn’t I keep doing that to 
							pump it up as long as I had mana to do it? 
							-Aaron 
							A: No. It would 
							still be a 5/4 - The Power change is applied after 
							the Embrace, so it keeps its current power, 
							--- 
							Q: If I have an 
							Fallen Angel in play and dozens of Zuberas as well, 
							can I sacrifice all of them at one time to let each 
							zubera trigger effects for like, 10 zuberas gone 
							into graveyard (if I sacrifice 10), or I must play 
							an ability 1 at 1 time so each the 1st zubera I 
							sacrifice will only trigger for 1, while the 2nd 
							will trigger for 2, and the third will trigger for 
							3? 
							-Lim W. 
							A: You can do it 
							either way you choose. 
							(Technically, in 
							the first case, you are sacrificing them one at a 
							time, in response to each other. However, the 
							ability doesn't ask how many zuberas went to the 
							graveyard until the ability resolves, which would 
							get a count of "lots.") 
							--- 
							Q: I have a 
							couple Neurok Transmuters and Myr Landshapers in 
							play along with an Energy Flux. I Q: would like to 
							turn my opponents stuff into artifacts before the 
							Energy Flux resolves. Is this possible? 
							-Jason 
							A: No. By the 
							time you can play the ability, the beginning of 
							upkeep has passed, and since the cards are not an 
							artifact, it won't have the "pay 2 or sacrifice" on 
							them. 
							--- 
							Q: My opponent 
							has a 1/1 creature in play. I play a Lose Hope to 
							give the creature -1/-1. My opponent plays a Giant 
							Growth in response. Does the creature live at the 
							end of turn?  
							A: Yes. All 
							effects wear off at the same time, so he'll live. 
							--- 
							Q: If he plays 
							Giant Growth first and then I play Lose Hope, does 
							the order of the spell resolution make a difference 
							at the end of turn?   
							-Rusty K. 
							A: If you play 
							Lose Hope in response, why are you asking about end 
							of turn. He dies right then, and the Giant Growth is 
							countered. 
							--- 
							Q: I have an 
							Unstable Shapeshifter in play, my opponent casts 
							Darigaaz the igniter. Who dies? Does anything?
							 
							A: Both of them 
							do. In the copy process, Unstable Shapeshifter gets 
							Darigaaz's name, and kills them both. 
							--- 
							Q: Similarly, can 
							I change my Vesuvan Doppleganger to Darigaaz, and in 
							doing, do I kill the original? -tanstaafl9 
							A: Yes. 
							--- 
							Q: The other day 
							we were playing and Storm Cauldron and Price of 
							Glory were onto the table at the same time. Some one 
							tapped on someone else's turn. What should happen? 
							Should the land go back to the hand, or should it be 
							destroyed?  
							-Ryan L. 
							A: In a two 
							player game, the Price of Glory will go on the stack 
							first, then the Storm Cauldron. So the land will 
							return to its owner's hand, since the Storm Cauldron 
							ability resolves first. 
							In a multiplayer 
							game (remembering there are no official rules, and 
							this is just how I would rule), we'd place the 
							abilities on the stack in clockwise turn order, 
							starting with the active player. So whoever would 
							take his turn next has his effect lose. 
							Example: Player A 
							is the active player, with players B, C, D, and E 
							around the table in that turn order. 
							a) If Player B 
							had the Price of Glory and Player D had the Storm 
							Cauldron, the land would return to its owner's hand, 
							since Storm Cauldron's ability goes on the stack 
							last, and thus, resolves first. 
							b) If Player C 
							had the Storm Cauldron and Player D had the Price of 
							Glory, the land would be destroyed, since Price of 
							Glory's ability goes on the stack last, and thus, 
							resolves first. 
							---  
							Q: Question on 
							Equip abilities. If the card does not state 'Equip 
							only as a sorcery', does that mean it can be played 
							at instant speed? 
							-Brian 
							A: No. Equip, by 
							its definition, can only be played as a sorcery. So 
							even if it doesn't say it on the card, you can only 
							play the ability during one of your main phases. 
							See you next 
							time. 
							Bill Guerin DCI Level 2 Judge | |||
| 
							
							Copyright© 1998-2005 pojo.com This site is not sponsored, endorsed, or otherwise affiliated with any of the companies or products featured on this site. This is not an Official Site. | |||||