Judge Bill


HOME

Decks to Beat - Tournament Winning Decks!

Card of the Day - A single card reviewed by several members of our crew.  Updated 5 days per week!

Message Board 

Card Price Guide

Featured Writers
Scott Gerhardt
Judge Bill
DeQuan Watson
Ray Powers - Monk's Corner
Jeff Zandi
Jonathan Pechon
Andy VanZandt
Jason Chapman - on Peasant Magic

Deck Garage  
Paul's Deck Garage

MTG Fan Articles
Deck Tips & Strategies
Peasant Magic
Tourney Reports 
Featured Articles  
Single Card Strategy

Magic Quizzes & Polls

Community
Chat
Magic League

Contact Us

Pojo's Book Reviews

Links

 

 


Pojo's Magic The Gathering
Judge's Corner

11.02.04 
Title - Vedalken Abilities
Questions: 4
 
---
 
Q: I have a Vedalken Orrery in play. Can I use Proteus Staff's ability as an instant ability seeing as how I can play sorcery cards in my hand as instants?
 
-Cody
 
A: No. Orrery only allows you to play (non-land) CARDS as instants. Abilities on a card do not qualify, since they are not cards.
 
---
 
Q: Can I use Stifle on a Polluted Delta, paying one life then using the Stifle to prevent the sac ability, so I can just bring an Island or Swamp to play?
 
-Juan
 
A: No, for two different reasons:
 
1) When you use Stifle to counter the ability, the WHOLE ability is countered. This means you don't get to search.
 
2) And besides, the sacrifice of the Polluted Delta, is a cost, not an effect. By the time you have priority to play the Stifle, the Delta is long gone. If the ability is Stifled, you don't get any of the costs back. Which means the Delta is still in the graveyard and you lost 1 life.
 
---
 
Q: If Sensei Golden-Tail puts a second Training Counter on a creature, does that creature have Bushido 1, Bushido 1?
 
-R. Arnold
 
A: Yes. Multiple instances of Bushido are cumulative. If a creature has Bushido 1 twice, then it acts a lot (but not exactly) like if it had Bushido 2. (Bushido 1 twice would take 2 Stifles to prevent all pumping.)
 
---
 
Q: If I attack with a creature equipped with a Sword of Kaldra and my opponent blocks with a Fog Bank, will the Fog Bank be removed from the game?
 
-Roland V.
 
A: No. When damage is prevented, it's as if the damage was never dealt. Therefore, the Sword won't trigger.
 
Fog Bank
1U  
Creature ó Wall  
0/2  
Defender (This creature canít attack.)
Flying
Prevent all combat damage that would be dealt to and dealt by Fog Bank. 
 
Sword of Kaldra
4  
Legendary Artifact ó Equipment  
Equipped creature gets +5/+5.
Whenever equipped creature deals damage to a creature, remove that creature from the game.
Equip 4 (4: Attach to target creature you control. Equip only as a sorcery. This card comes into play unattached and stays in play if the creature leaves play.) 
 
See you Friday.
 
Bill Guerin
DCI Level 2 Judge

 

Ask Judge Bill A Question

 

Pojo.com

Copyright 1998-2004 Pojo.com



Magic the Gathering is a Registered Trademark of Wizards of the Coast.
This site is not affiliated with Wizards of the Coast and is not an Official Site.